Home Featured Stenshorne fends off Lindblad to win Melbourne F3 sprint race

Stenshorne fends off Lindblad to win Melbourne F3 sprint race

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Dutch Photo Agency

Martinius Stenshorne scored his first Formula 3 win in the Melbourne sprint race, resisting another charging drive through the order by fellow rookie Arvid Lindblad.

Reversed-grid pole-sitter Laurens van Hoepen finished third to join Lindblad in claiming a second sprint race podium from as many events.

ART Grand Prix driver Van Hoepen held onto the lead at the start followed by Hitech GP’s Stenshorne. Behind them, ART GP’s Christian Mansell also kept his starting position of third despite a slow getaway.

Further down the order, qualifying pacesetter Leonardo Fornaroli gained three places, getting ninth with a bold move around the outside of ART GP’s Nikola Tsolov heading into turn nine.

It was on lap three of 20 that Stenshorne kicked off his charge for the race win. The Norwegian took the lead from van Hoepen at turn nine, but the latter regained it soon after at turn 11. They traded the lead over the next three laps, helped by the DRS effect.

Lindblad drove past Mansell to move up to third on lap six, while the lead pair broke away. Two laps later, Lindblad had reduced the gap and drove past van Hoepen, who had lost contact with Stenshorne.

The safety car was deployed on lap 14 to clear the car of Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak. The PHM Racing driver had overtaken Van Amersfoort Racing’s Tommy Smith and returned to the racing line when the Australian missed his braking point and rear-ending him. Smith was penalised 10 seconds.

Racing resumed at the end of lap 16, with Stenshorne accelerating already at turn 11. His strategy paid off as Lindlblad, who was closing on on him before the safety car, was then unable to challenge him for victory.

Campos Racing’s Mari Boya attempted a move on van Hoepen at turn nine with two laps to go. He could not complete it and was vulnerable to team-mate Oliver Goethe and Prema’s Gabriele Mini, but fended them off.

An unsuccessful overtake attempt on Goethe by Mini in the penultimate corner resulted in the latter losing the place to team-mate Dino Beganovic. However Beganovic was penalised five seconds for forcing off Campos’s Sebastian Montoya early on, and that dropped him from sixth to 13th.

PHM’s Nikita Bedrin was penalised 10s post-race for overtaking Montoya off-track, demoting him from eighth to 21st, and meaning the final points places went to MP Motorsport’s Alex Dunne, Montoya, Fornaroli and Mansell.

Championship leader Luke Browning headed into the pits on lap four with a mechanical issue, and finished a lap down.

Race results (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP 35m32.870s
2 Arvid Lindblad Prema +1.673s
3 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +1.958s
4 Mari Boya Campos Racing +3.165s
5 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing +4.152s
6 Gabriele Mini Prema +5.158s
7 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport +6.485s
8 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing +7.122s
9 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +7.311s
10 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix +7.747s
11 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport +8.234s
12 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport +8.628s
13 Dino Beganovic Prema +9.735s
14 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport +10.834s
15 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport +11.288s
16 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport +11.967s
17 Sami Meguetounif Trident +13.233s
18 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport +13.744s
19 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +14.623s
20 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix +15.214s
21 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +15.474s
22 Joshua Dufek PHM Racing +15.640s
23 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport +16.893s
24 Santiago Ramos Trident +17.443s
25 Cian Shields Hitech GP +18.250s
26 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport +19.095s
27 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +27.347s
28 Luke Browning Hitech GP +1 lap
Ret Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak PHM Racing
Ret Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing
Fastest lap: Browning, 1m36.186s

Championship standings
 Browning 25   2 Lindblad 23   3 Tramnitz 21   4 Mansell 19   5 Van Hoepen 18   6 Fornaroli 17   7 Mini 17   8 Meguetounif 13   9 Boya 11   10 Stenshorne 10