Home Formula 4Italian F4 Slater sails away to another Vallelunga victory in Italian F4

Slater sails away to another Vallelunga victory in Italian F4

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Prema’s Freddie Slater was victorious again in Italian Formula 4’s second race at Vallelunga.

Slater made a strong start from pole, while Van Amersfoort Racing’s Hiyu Yamakoshi in third had to simultaneously defend from Prema’s Tomass Stolcermanis and US Racing’s Matheus Ferreira through the first sector of lap one.

He managed to keep both behind until the safety car was summoned due to PHM Racing’s Everett Stack and VAR’s Andrija Kostic colliding at turn seven and retiring in the gravel. AKM Motorsport’s Alexander Savinkov had to also go through the gravel to avoid them but managed to rejoin the track and then make a pitstop, while Real Racing Team’s Luca Viisoreanu spun down to 33rd place.

Although the two crashed cars were recovered quickly, racing did not resume until lap five. There was little change in the top 15 on the restart lap, although Prema’s Dion Gowda did lock up at turn seven and that put him under pressure from US’s Gianmarco Pradel, who dived past him at the turn 12 hairpin.

Gowda then had to get defensive against VAR’s Gustav Jonsson and R-ace GP’s Luka Sammalisto through the rest of the lap, and kept ninth place while Sammalisto passed Jonsson.

Sammalisto’s progress was short-lived as on the next lap he checked up at turn seven to avoid running into the car in front and ended up get rearended himself. He spun onto the grass, and was able to rejoin at the back of the pack.

Meanwhile up front Slater was setting the pace, with three fastest laps in a row putting him 2.373 seconds clear of team-mate Alex Powell by the end of lap eight. He continued to grow his lead, and finished the 18-lap race 5.264s ahead.

Powell was shown a black-and-a-white warning flag as he was gapped by Slater, and he came home a second ahead of Yamakoshi who made several lock-ups while being pressured by Stolcermanis and Ferreira.

Jenzer Motorsport’s Ethan Ischer held off US’s Akshay Bohra for sixth, with Pradel, Gowda and Jonsson completing the top 10. There was late drama in the battle for 11th, as Prema’s Kean Nakamura Berta and US’s Jack Beeton banged rear wheels and Nakamura’s car was briefly sent into the air, but it did not lead to him losing the position.

Rashid Al Dhaheri joined the retiree list mid-race after losing half of his front wing while running in 14th, having made contact with US’s Maxim Rehm, and Savinkov recovered to 25th despite a clash late in the race.

Race results (18 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Freddie Slater Prema 31m35.313s
2 Alex Powell Prema +5.264s
3 Hiyu Yamakoshi Van Amersfoort Racing +6.277s
4 Tomass Stolcermanis Prema +7.462s
5 Matheus Ferreira US Racing +7.958s
6 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport +9.012s
7 Akshay Bohra US Racing +9.415s
8 Gianmarco Pradel US Racing +10.208s
9 Dion Gowda Prema +10.849s
10 Gustav Jonsson Van Amersfoort Racing +13.212s
11 Kean Nakamura Berta Prema +16.352s
12 Jack Beeton US Racing +17.330s
13 Davide Larini PHM Racing +17.636s
14 Maximilian Popov PHM Racing +23.003s
15 Reno Francot Jenzer Motorsport +24.163s
16 Enea Frey Jenzer Motorsport +25.885s
17 Maxim Rehm US Racing +26.813s
18 Kabir Anurag US Racing +27.532s
19 Shimo Zhang Jenzer Motorsport +28.897s
20 Lin Hodenius Van Amesfoort Racing +29.329s
21 Alvise Rodella Van Amesfoort Racing +30.309s
22 Emanuele Olivieri AKM Motorsport +30.637s
23 Enzo Yeh R-ace GP +31.044
24 Kamal Mrad PHM Racing +31.665s
25 Alexander Savinkov AKM Motorsport +35.091s
26 Filippo Fiorentino Cram Motorsport +43.577s
27 Wiktor Dobrzanski Cram Motorsport +44.018s
28 Edu Robinson AS Motorsport +44.340s
29 Luca Viisoreanu Real Racing Team +44.800s
30 Gabriel Holguin Maffi Racing +59.476s
31 Nathanael Berreby Maffi Racing +1m00.040s
Ret Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema
Ret Andrej Petrovic PHM Racing
Ret Luka Sammalisto R-ace GP
Ret Andrija Kostic Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Everett Stack PHM Racing
Fastest lap: Slater, 1m33.889s

Championship standings
1 Slater 140   2 Yamakoshi 112   3 Bohra 85   4 Powell 84   5 Beeton 58   6 Stolcermanis 48   7 Al Dhaheri 45   8 Gowda 41   9 Nakamura 37   10 Pradel 31