Home Formula 4British F4 Sherwood joins Rodin in British F4 as Fairclough tops test at Silverstone

Sherwood joins Rodin in British F4 as Fairclough tops test at Silverstone

by Ida Wood

Photo: Rodin Motorsport

British Formula 4 pre-season testing got underway on Silverstone’s Grand Prix track layout this week, and Deagen Fairclough set the pace.

Rodin Motorsport announced at the start of the two-day test that it had added Jack Sherwood to its line-up for 2024. The 17-year-old came 24th in Ginetta Junior three years ago, then stepped up to single-seaters in GB4 where he came fifth in the 2022 standings with two wins and a pole.

He also did four British F4 rounds that year with Chris Dittmann Racing, with a best finish of eighth leaving him 18th in the standings. Sherwood remained with the team for 2023, coming 15th in British F4 with three podiums and scoring one point in a GB3 cameo.

“We are looking forward to working with Jack in 2024 and seeing what he can do with us,” said Rodin’s British F4 team manager Gary Bonnor.

“His previous experience in the series will only help him hit the ground running with us as we look to develop him further this year.”

Starting the test on top was Fairclough, who set a 2m01.086s in session one to Hitech GP lead team-mate Mika Abrahams by 0.326 seconds. Rodin’s James Higgins was a further 0.017s slower in third, with Reza Seewooruthun (Hitech), Joel Bergstrom (JHR Developments) and Gabriel Stilp (Hitech) the only other drivers within a second of the pace.

Session two was slightly slower, and Rodin’s Alex Ninovic set the pace with a 2m01.129s. He was fastest by just 0.018s over Argenti Motorsport’s Rowan Campbell-Pilling, with Higgins 0.089s behind in third and Fairclough 0.135s back in fourth. JHR’s Leon Robinson was 0.537s slower than Ninovic in fifth, and this time the top nine were covered by a second. Argenti’s Matus Ryba missed the session.

Fairclough lowered the pace to 2m00.678s in session three, with Xcel Motorsport’s Zack Scoular his closest rival with a 2m00.924s lap. Campbell-Pilling was next best, 0.428s behind, and Robinson was fourth. Argenti’s Emily Cotty did two outlaps but did not put a time on the board.

All 21 drivers were active again in session four, and all improved bar Fortec Motorsport’s Nina Pothof and Cotty. Fairclough set a 2m00.292s to stay on top, and Higgins and Ninovic both set 2m00.573s to be joint second. Scoular was 0.342s behind in fourth, with 0.993s covering the top 14.

Wednesday began with Scoular lowering the pace to 2m00.023s. There were only six drivers who improved their pace, and despite going second fastest Fairclough was not one of them.

Higgins moved into second overall by topping the next session with a 2m00.210s. Fairclough was again a non-improver in second place, while 12 improved.

In session seven Fairclough topped the times by 0.256s over Stilp, who was the only improver, then in the final session Fairclough finally made a gain and a big one too as he set a 1m59.971s. Stilp fell 0.009s short of setting a sub-2m00s lap but was among the eight who improved, and Scoular was third fastest. Robinson was absent.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Deagen Fairclough Hitech GP 1m59.971s 107
2 Gabriel Stilp Hitech GP 2m00.008s +0.037s 104
3 Zack Scoular Xcel Motorsport 2m00.023s +0.052s 116
4 James Higgins Rodin Motorsport 2m00.210s +0.239s 110
5 Alex Ninovic Rodin Motorsport 2m00.250s +0.279s 98
6 Yuanpu Cui Argenti Motorsport 2m00.496s +0.525s 113
7 Rowan Campbell-Pilling Argenti Motorsport 2m00.576s +0.605s 110
8 Reza Seewooruthun Hitech GP 2m00.631s +0.660s 104
9 Mika Abrahams Hitech GP 2m00.649s +0.678s 98
10 Bart Harrison Chris Dittmann Racing 2m00.770s +0.799s 111
11 Joel Bergstrom JHR Developments 2m00.777s +0.806s 111
12 Leo Robinson JHR Developments 2m00.836s +0.865s 93
13 Kai Daryanani Fortec Motorsports 2m00.967s +0.996s 122
14 Matus Ryba Argenti Motorsport 2m00.984s +1.013s 94
15 Martin Molnar Virtuosi Racing 2m01.060s +1.089s 117
16 Jack Sherwood Rodin Motorsport 2m01.124s +1.153s 96
17 Chloe Grant Chris Dittmann Racing 2m01.247s +1.276s 119
18 Chloe Chong JHR Developments 2m01.285s +1.314s 99
19 Nina Pothof Fortec Motorsports 2m01.375s +1.404s 122
20 Yuhao Fu Virtuosi Racing 2m02.200s +2.229s 106
21 Emily Cotty Argenti Motorsport 2m10.056s +10.085s 96