Home Featured Saucy fastest for third time in FIA F3 pre-season testing

Saucy fastest for third time in FIA F3 pre-season testing

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Gregoire Saucy made it three sessions out of three as he topped the times again on the second morning of FIA Formula 3 pre-season testing at Bahrain.

The ART Grand Prix driver sat atop the timesheet for the majority of the session. PHM Racing by Charouz’s Sophia Floersch was fastest early on, but when drivers were not yet lapping at a representative pace, then Rodin Carlin’s Hunter Yeany set a 1m50.500s that was the first proper flying lap of the day.

Jenzer Motorsport’s Taylor Barnard dropped the pace by over 2.3 seconds by becoming the first to lap in the 1m48s, but was only on top for a minute before Saucy set a 1m48.083s.

Trident’s Gabriel Bortoleto then broke into the 1m47s a few moments later, and stayed on top for 20 minutes before a flurry of improvements came in. Hitech GP’s Sebastian Montoya set a 1m47.480s, fellow Hitech driver Luke Browning then went 0.141s faster, then Saucy became the first driver in the 1m46s.

It put him 0.424s clear of Prema’s Dino Beganovic, with Bortoleto, Browning and Barnard filling the next positions, and Saucy later improved by 0.055s before a 10-minute red flag stoppage at the end of hour one of the two-and-a-half hour session.

Following that, there was a lot of track activity but barely any improvements in laptime.

Hitech’s Gabriele Mini went third fastest as the session reached its halfway point, and Browning was shuffled down to seventh by MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto and ART Grand Prix’s Nikola Tsolov.

That order went unchanged through the next hour, with more drivers concentrating on long runs. The only improvement in laptime came from Jenzer’s Alex Garcia down in 27th place shortly before the chequered flag was waved.

Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m46.642s 35
2 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m47.121s +0.479s 33
3 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 1m47.166s +0.524s 39
4 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident 1m47.197s +0.555s 24
5 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m47.266s +0.624s 27
6 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m47.287s +0.645s 34
7 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m47.339s +0.697s 37
8 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix 1m47.359s +0.717s 36
9 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.380s +0.738s 25
10 Zak O’Sullivan Prema 1m47.387s +0.745s 32
11 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m47.419s +0.777s 36
12 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 1m47.460s +0.818s 24
13 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP 1m47.480s +0.838s 39
14 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.515s +0.873s 33
15 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m47.539s +0.897s 26
16 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1m47.645s +1.003s 34
17 Paul Aron Prema 1m47.888s +1.046s 31
18 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.873s +1.231s 27
19 Oliver Goethe Trident 1m48.060s +1.418s 22
20 Ollie Gray Carlin 1m48.107s +1.465s 35
21 Christian Mansell Campos Racing 1m48.158s +1.516s 32
22 Sophia Floersch PHM Racing by Charouz 1m48.322s +1.680s 33
23 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.341s +1.699s 34
24 Hunter Yeany Carlin 1m48.415s +1.773s 36
25 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m48.471s +1.829s 35
26 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m48.501s +1.859s 21
27 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport 1m48.588s +1.946s 15
28 Piotr Wisnicki PHM Racing by Charouz 1m48.921s +2.279s 26
29 Roberto Faria PHM Racing by Charouz 1m49.941s +3.299s 12
30 Tommy Smith PHM Racing by Charouz 1m50.936s +4.294s 15