Home News Rowe races into USF Pro 2000 lead with St. Petersburg win

Rowe races into USF Pro 2000 lead with St. Petersburg win

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Myles Rowe ended the Firestone Grand Prix weekend in St. Petersburg with victory in USF Pro 2000’s second race of 2023.

The Pabst Racing driver started fifth, and made up one place on lap one then another on lap two before a full course yellow period began after Yuven Sundaramoorthy came to a stop at Turn 3.

The next two drivers to pass were Kiko Porto and Francesco Pizzi, with the latter having started on pole and the former having passed him around the outside of Turn 1 for the lead on the opening lap.

Rowe cleared Pizzi on the restart lap, and the race was neutralised moments later after Reece Ushijima lost his rear wing.

A futher three laps was spent under yellow flag conditions behind the pace car before racing could resume again, and Rowe’s progress continued as he quickly passed Porto for the lead.

Pizzi was demoted to fifth behind Jace Denmark and Lirim Zendeli on the restart lap, and from there the field started to spread out.

A lead of three second was built up by Rowe in the second half of the race, with Denmark chasing Porto for second and escaping the battle between TJ Speed duo Zendeli and Pizzi for fourth.

Race one winner Christian Brooks finished not far behind them in sixth, losing the points lead to Rowe in the process, and Jordan Missig was seventh. He had been battling with Salvador De Alba before a brush with one of the walls put him out of the race with a few laps to go, and it meant fastest lap holder Joel Granfors inherited eighth.

Race result (25 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing 35m21.0288s
2 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing +3.0467s
3 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing +3.7924s
4 Lirim Zendeli TJ Speed +8.8022s
5 Francesco Pizzi TJ Speed +9.2744s
6 Christian Brooks Turn 3 Motorsport +9.9900s
7 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing +11.5199s
8 Joel Granfors Exclusive Autosport +11.7264s
9 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsport +19.1529s
10 Christian Weir TJ Speed +19.5208s
11 Michael d’Orlando Turn 3 Motorsport +19.8489s
12 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport +29.9106s
13 Nicholas Monteiro NeoTech Motorsport +30.4394s
14 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing +30.9297s
15 Jackson Lee Turn 3 Motorsport +37.2662s
16 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport
Ret Salvador De Alba Exclusive Autosport
Ret Ricardo Escotto JHDD
Ret Reece Ushijima JHDD
Ret Yuven Sundaramoorthy Exclusive Autosport
Fastest lap: Granfors, 1m09.8006s

Championship standings
1 Rowe 53   2 Porto 50   3 Brooks 47   4 Denmark 37   5 Pizzi 37   6 Granfors 26   7 Zendeli 24   8 Browne 20   9 Ushijima 19   10 Miller 19