Home News Rowe gets his third USF Pro 2000 pole on the streets of Toronto

Rowe gets his third USF Pro 2000 pole on the streets of Toronto

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

USF Pro 2000 points leader Myles Rowe claimed pole position on the streets of Toronto by a sizeable 0.6598 seconds.

After a disrupted practice session, drivers came into qualifying having had little track time. But it only took two laps for the practice pace to be beaten, with DEForce Racing’s Kiko Porto setting a 1m11.2s.

Soon Rowe came to the fore, lapping sub-1m10s on his fifth effort and then on the lap after setting a 1m09.6146s.

That would ultimately be the lap that earned him pole, as not long after red flags were out due to TJ Speed’s Francesco Pizzi hitting the inside wall and then the outside wall at turn 11 and breaking the right-hand side of his car.

At that point Rowe had a gap of 0.6598 seconds to Turn 3 Motorsport’s Michael d’Orlando in second place, with Exclusive Autosport’s a further two tenths back in third.

The session restarted with four minutes left on the clock, and everyone had started flying laps when red flags were waved again as Jack William Miller went into the tyre stacks at turn five. The Miller Vinatieri Motorsports driver had been held up earlier in the lap by TJ Speed’s Christian Weir and had gone down his inside at turn five in an attempt to overtake him. But he did not get his car turned in in time and ploughed into the tyres.

That secured Rowe pole, with all the other positions unchanged as nobody had registered a flying lap on the pace following the restart.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing 1m09.6146s 10
2 Michael d’Orlando Turn 3 Motorsport 1m10.2744s +0.6598s 10
3 Salvador de Alba Exclusive Autosport 1m10.4915s +0.8769s 9
4 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 1m10.6454s +1.0308s 9
5 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m10.6538s +1.0392s 9
6 Joel Granfors Exclusive Autosport 1m10.7185s +1.1039s 8
7 Lirim Zendeli TJ Speed 1m10.7325s +1.1179s 9
8 Francesco Pizzi TJ Speed 1m10.7694s +1.1548s 5
9 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 1m10.8291s +1.2145s 9
10 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport 1m10.8709s +1.2563s 9
11 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing 1m10.9098s +1.2952s 8
12 Christian Weir TJ Speed 1m10.9140s +1.2994s 9
13 Christian Brooks Turn 3 Motorsport 1m10.9724s +1.3578s 10
14 Ricardo Escotto JHDD 1m11.1655s +1.5509s 9
15 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Exclusive Autosport 1m11.1760s +1.5614s 9
16 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m11.2787s +1.6641s 7
17 Nicholas Monteiro NeoTech Motorsport 1m11.9455s +2.3309s 8
18 Louka St.-Jean Turn 3 Motorsport 1m11.9921s +2.3775s 7
19 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport 1m12.1014s +2.4868s 9