Home Formula 3GB3 Rodin’s Louis Sharp wins on GB3 debut

Rodin’s Louis Sharp wins on GB3 debut

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Rodin Motorsport’s Louis Sharp took a lights-to-flag win on his GB3 debut in the opening race of the season at Oulton Park.

Sharp led away from pole, but he was challenged around the outside at Old Hall bend by fellow front-row starter John Bennett, who eventually conceded before Cascades.

Hitech GP’s Gerrard Xie moved ahead of Rodin’s Ugo Ugochuwku into third but ran wide at Cascades which allowed the American to reclaim the place, with Xie holding on to fourth from Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell despite running wide again at the next turn.

At the rear of the field Hillspeed’s Aditya Kulkarni retired in the Shell Oils gravel trap with front-right suspension damage following a collision with VRD by Arden’s James Hedley, who was forced to pit at the end of the lap to change his front wing.

The safety car was deployed to retrieve Kulkarni’s car, with racing resuming on lap five. Sharp immediately pulled out a 0.7-second advantage and continued to break away by 0.2s per lap. He eventually took the chequered flag 1.433s clear of JHR Development’s Bennett in a contest that was reduced from 14 to 11 laps due to the race’s time limit expiring.

Ugochukwu came home a further two seconds adrift in third to make the podium on his debut, with Xie, Cresswell and Hitech’s Tymek Kucharczyk close behind.

Arthur Rogeon was a lonely seventh for Rodin, while Fortec’s Colin Queen made an opening-corner pass around the outside of Hitech’s Will Macintyre and Elite Motorsport’s Jarrod Waberski and then remained ahead of the pair to finish eighth.

Race result (11 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Louis Sharp Rodin Motorsport 20m24.198s
2 John Bennett JHR Developments +1.433s
3 Ugo Ugochukwu Rodin Motorsport +3.440s
4 Gerrard Xie Hitech GP +4.044s
5 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport +4.920s
6 Tymek Kucharzyck Hitech GP +5.663s
7 Arthur Rogeon Rodin Motorsport +7.789s
8 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports +8.394s
9 Will Macintyre Hitech GP +8.775s
10 Jarrod Waberski Elite Motorsport +9.361s
11 Patrick Heuzenroeder JHR Developments +11.129s
12 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports +11.545s
13 Josh Irfan JHR Developments +12.002s
14 Noah Ping VRD by Arden +12.575s
15 Seb Murray Chris Dittmann Racing +13.774s
16 Flynn Jackes Chris Dittmann Racing +14.995s
17 James Hedley VRD by Arden +15.751s
18 Hugo Schwarze Elite Motorsport +18.317s
19 Shawn Rashid VRD by Arden +18.634s
20 Rishab Jain Chris Dittmann Racing +24.386s
Ret Aditya Kulkarni Hillspeed
Fastest lap: Bennett, 1m30.514s