Home Formula 4GB4 Reynolds wins behind the safety car in reversed-grid GB4 race

Reynolds wins behind the safety car in reversed-grid GB4 race

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Elite Motorsport’s Harri Reynolds was the winner of a truncated final GB4 race of the weekend at Silverstone that finished behind the safety car.

Fortec Motorsports locked out the front row for the reversed-grid contest, with Ruhaan Alva starting ahead of Aditya Kulkarni.

Fox Motorsport’s Sid Smith made the better getaway from third to move between the pair, but made contact with Alva and was briefly launched before retiring at the first corner with front-left suspension damage.

Reynolds rose from sixth on the grid to challenge Alva through Maggotts and Becketts, and the pair again went side-by-side again through Stowe before Reynolds finally took the lead into Vale.

Kevin Mills Racing’s Jeremy Fairbairn prevailed in a squabble for third with Fox’s Liam McNeilly, who then ran off track as he tried to fight back into Abbey and rejoined near the rear of the field.

A spin for privateer Dylan Hotchin triggered a brief safety car period, with Reynolds continuing to lead at the resumption from Alva while Fairbairn came under pressure for third from team-mate Tom Mils.

The KMR duo went wheel-to-wheel into Village, with Mills sending it around the outside and then sealing the move into the next corner.

Evans GP’s Cooper Webster then moved alongside Fairbairn into Brooklands and Luffield, but contact between the pair resulted in Webster crashing into the barriers and Fairbairn sliding through the gravel slipping back to ninth.

The incident resulted in the remainder of the race being run behind the safety car, with Reynolds taking a maiden GB4 victory ahead of Alva and Mills.

Fortec’s Colin Queen came from 10th to fourth, while McNeilly recovered to fifth. KMR’s Jack Clifford was sixth ahead of Kulkarni and Oldfield’s Jason Conzo, while Harry Burgoyne Jr was 10th for Graham Brunton Racing.

Race result (7 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Harri Reynolds Elite Motorsport 18m25.561s
2 Ruhaan Alva Fortec Motorsports +0.793s
3 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing +0.921s
4 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports +1.081s
5 Liam McNeilly Fox Motorsport +1.228s
6 Jack Clifford Kevin Mills Racing +1.924s
7 Aditya Kulkarni Fortec Motorsports +2.101s
8 Jason Conzo Oldfield Motorsport +2.399s
9 Jeremy Fairbairn Kevin Mills Racing +2.536s
10 Harry Burgoyne Jr Graham Brunton Racing +2.763s
11 Christian Lester Rossoverde Racing +3.187s
12 Dylan Hotchin Dylan Hotchin Racing +13.579s
Ret Cooper Webster Evans GP
Ret Sid Smith Fox Motorsport
Ret Thomas Lee Evans GP
Fastest lap: Reynolds, 2m02.508s