Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Red flags hand Antonelli victory over Camara in shortened FREC race

Red flags hand Antonelli victory over Camara in shortened FREC race

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

Prema’s Andrea Kimi Antonelli had his redemption after losing victory in the first Formula Regional European Championship race at Monza to a penalty as he won race two on Sunday.

Antonelli’s main rival for the win was team-mate Rafael Camara, and the pair started first and fourth with Race Performance Motorsport’s Santiago Ramos and R-ace GP’s Tim Tramnitz between them.

Camara passed Tramnitz early on lap one, but then was back in fourth after cutting the della Roggia chicane as he dropped behind Trident’s Roman Bilinski who had to resist an attack from Camara at turn one on lap two.

The race was then neutralised as Arden’s Joshua Duerksen was spun around by R-ace’s Martinius Stenshorne as they exited turn two, with Duerksen retiring in the gravel and Stenshorne retiring in the pits.

That incident lifted Prema’s Lorenzo Fluxa to sixth ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Laurens van Hoepen, Trident’s Nikhil Bohra and Owen Tangavelou, and R-P-M’s Noah Stromsted.

Racing resumed on lap four and Bilinski went for the outside and then the inside of Ramos as they approached turn one. The slightest bit of contact sent Ramos spinning, and everyone avoided him as his car stopped on the turn two kerbs. He was able to get going again unaided and eventually finished 22nd.

Although Bilinski took second, he lost the position at the end of lap by running wide into the gravel at Parabolica and being passed by Camara. Third became seventh on lap five as Tramnitz passed him at the della Roggia chicane but cut it slightly and baulked Bilinski on the exit, leading to him losing three further places.

Up front there was a gap of 0.7 seconds between Antonelli and Camara, and after a few laps Antonelli started weaving down the pit straight in an attempt to break the tow to his team-mate. It did not work, and they started lap 11 split by 0.422s. Camara looked to the outside at turn one but an overtake was not possible, and he attempted the same at della Roggia but slightly cut the chicane and tucked backed in behind once they reached Lesmo 1.

He stayed on his gearbox for the rest of the lap and they crossed the line 0.029s apart. Camara was already alongside Antonelli and had the inside line for turn one, where he cleanly took the lead and held it until the race was stopped by red flags on lap 13 and with just under five minutes-plus-one lap still left on the race clock.

The cause of the stoppage was an incident on lap 12 where G4 Racing’s Pierre-Alexandre Provost went off exiting Lesmo 2 then spun across the track, and Arden’s Tom Lebbon went onto the grass and crashed into the barriers as he tried to avoid him.

First the safety car came out, then red flags waved and race control chose not to restart the race. That meant results were taken from the end of lap 11, placing Antonelli back into the lead and therefore resulting in his fourth win.

Tramnitz finished third ahead of Fluxa and van Hoepen, who had been passed by Stromsted on lap 12. Stromsted therefore was classified sixth, with Bilinski seventh.

Race results (11 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 21m26.709s
2 Rafael Camara Prema +0.221s
3 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP +1.516s
4 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema +2.729s
5 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +4.587s
6 Noah Stromsted R-P-M +4.613s
7 Roman Bilinski Trident +5.987s
8 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +6.267s
9 Owen Tangavelou Trident +8.237s
10 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix +8.632s
11 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport +8.846s
12 Nikhil Bohra Trident +9.714s
13 Maceo Capietto R-P-M +10.241s
14 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport +10.858s
15 Hadrien David Monolite Racing +11.142s
16 Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing +11.815s
17 Michael Belov G4 Racing +12.932s
18 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing +17.806s
19 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport +18.341s
20 Tymek Kucharczyk Sainteloc Racing +18.938s
21 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing +19.362s
22 Santiago Ramos R-P-M +19.837s
23 Levente Revesz Arden +24.089s
24 Niels Koolen Van Amersfoort Racing +25.071s
25 William Karlsson KIC Motorsport +25.331s
26 Ivan Klymenko KIC Motorsport +26.823s
27 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP +26.004s
28 Jesse Carrasquedo Van Amersfoort Racing +26.507s
29 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing +26.885s
30 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing +27.192s
31 Pierre-Alexandre Provost G4 Racing +1m22.127s
32 Tom Lebbon Arden +1 lap
Ret Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP
Ret Joshua Duerksen Arden
Fastest lap: Belov, 1m47.941s

Championship standings
1 Antonelli 239   2 Stenshorne 196   3 Tramnitz 176   4 Camara 140   5 Haverkort 118   6 Giusti 110   7 Fluxa 76   8 Meguetonif 69   9 Capietto 65   10 Ramos 65