Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Prema’s Rafael Camara leads FREC’s Monza practice

Prema’s Rafael Camara leads FREC’s Monza practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: Prema

Prema’s Rafael Camara was fastest in Formula Regional European Championship practice at Monza on Friday, although he ended the first session in 24th place.

FP1 took place on a wet but drying circuit, meaning there was a huge amount of track evolution and a 10-second improvement in pace from the beginning to the end of the 50-minute session.

MP Motorsport’s Sami Meguetounif and KIC Motorsport’s Maya Weug traded top spot through the first 10 minutes, the R-ace Gp’s Tim Tramnitz took over at the top with a 2m01.514s lap.

ART Grand Prix’s Marcus Amand beat that by 0.072 seconds, then Trident’s Owen Tangavelou went a tenth faster than that. He remained on top for three minutes before Prema’s points leader Andrea Kimi Antonelli put in the first 1m59s lap.

Nobody could get close to that at first, then after 21 minutes Antonelli was shuffled down to fourth by Tramnitz setting a 1m58.776s while G4 Racing’s Alessandro Giusti and Meguetounif also went faster than him.

Meguetounif set a 1m58.148s at the session’s halfway point, and a few minutes later Trident’s Roman Bilinski posted a 1m57.778s. R-ace’s Martinus Stenshorne got within 0.02s of that benchmark, before Trident’s Nikhil Bohra lowered the pace by 0.1s. Two-and-a-half minutes later, Antonelli set a 1m57.543s that would stand as the fastest lap until the final 10 minutes.

At this point the track was at its busiest, helping grip it up, and ART GP’s Laurens van Hoepen and Amand brought the pace down into the 1m56s and then the 1m55s. G4’s Michael Belov set a 1m55.398s to beat van Hoepen by 0.032s before red flags waved due to Monolite Racing’s Hadrien David stopping at turn two.

Following the restart, it was not until after the chequered flag that more improvements came in. Monolite’s Enzo Scionti set a 1m54.442s to go top, then Race Performance Motorsport’s Maceo Capietto posted a 1m54.105s. His team-mate Santiago Ramos smashed that with a 1m53.689s, and the pace was lowered even further as Meguetounif set a 1m53.036s to lead Bilinski by 0.049s and MP’s Victor Bernier by 0.063s.

Antonelli ended up 20th, with Stenshorne in 22nd and Tramnitz in 26th.

Laptimes were immediately faster in the dry FP2, with Ramos and debuting team-mate Noah Stromsted lowering the pace through the first 10 minutes.

Tramnitz and Meguetounif then joined the fight to be fastest before Arden’s Joshua Duerksen crashed at Lesmo 1 and brought out red flags.

Stromsted was first to set a new benchmark when FP2 eventually restarted, then Bohra and Camara were first into the 1m47s. Tramnitz lowered the pace several times, and Camara got back ahead of him by 0.188s with four-and-a-half minutes remaining. The order went unchanged before red flags ended the session following another crash.

Antonelli and main title rival Stenshorne were fourth and 10th fastest.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Rafael Camara Prema 1m47.242s 31
2 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP 1m47.430s +0.188s 36
3 Santiago Ramos R-P-M 1m47.396s +0.254s 37
4 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m47.549s +0.307s 31
5 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m47.662s +0.420s 36
6 Nikhil Bohra Trident 1m47.677s +0.435s 33
7 Maceo Capietto R-P-M 1m47.692s +0.450s 37
8 Hadrien David Monolite Racing 1m47.704s +0.462s 30
9 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix 1m47.778s +0.536s 34
10 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP 1m47.843s +0.601s 33
11 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing 1m47.861s +0.619s 30
12 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.941s +0.699s 34
13 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m49.967s +0.725s 34
14 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport 1m48.083s +0.841s 37
15 Owen Tangavelou Trident 1m48.149s +0.907s 33
16 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport 1m48.157s +0.915s 32
17 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m48.241s +0.999s 32
18 Noah Stromsted R-P-M 1m48.242s +1.000s 30
19 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m48.331s +1.089s 30
20 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing 1m48.355s +1.113s 31
21 Tom Lebbon Arden 1m48.390s +1.148s 34
22 Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing 1m48.581s +1.339s 25
23 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema 1m48.597s +1.355s 31
24 Tymek Kucharczyk Sainteloc Racing 1m48.599s +1.357s 29
25 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP 1m48.653s +1.411s 37
26 Pierre-Alexandre Provost G4 Racing 1m48.923s +1.681s 30
27 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing 1m49.201s +1.959s 34
28 Levente Revesz Arden 1m49.253s +2.011s 36
29 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing 1m49.277s +2.035s 32
30 Niels Koolen Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.360s +2.118s 28
31 William Karlsson KIC Motorsport 1m49.374s +2.132s 28
32 Jesse Carrasquedo Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.596s +2.354s 31
33 Ivan Klymenko KIC Motorsport 1m49.723s +2.481s 32
34 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m49.798s +2.556s 20