Home Featured Pourchaire dominates last morning of F2’s in-season Barcelona test

Pourchaire dominates last morning of F2’s in-season Barcelona test

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Theo Pourchaire dominated the timesheet on the last morning of Formula 2’s in-season test at Barcelona, helped by a new set of soft tyres.

The first red flag of the morning was out just two minutes into the session. Pourchaire spun and stalled while warming up his tyres just after leaving the pitlane.

When the action resumed, both he and ART Grand Prix team-mate Victor Martins went out on track on a used set of soft tyres. Pourchaire set a fastest lap of 1m24.852s, with Martins sitting in second place 0.491 seconds behind.

Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung brought caused a second red flag period 40 minutes into the session as he ran off-the-track in sector two.

The track went green again after a 10-minute stoppage, and the ART GP pair went for a second performance run, this time on new tyres. Pourchaire improved his previous benchmark by almost one second, setting a 1m23.943s, the first sub-1m24s lap so far across the three days of testing.

Meanwhile, other drivers performing qualifying simulations did so on old sets, due to having already used all the three sets of the softest compound available in the previous days. Consequently, they were unable to break the 1m25s barrier.

Rain forecast for the afternoon session prompted drivers to clock a large amount of laps in the first hour-and-a-half of running. Rodin Carlin, Prema and Virtuosi Racing focused on long runs on the hard tyre, whereas the rest of the teams alternated between race and qualifying simulations.

Several drivers had surpassed the 50-lap mark at the end of the session, with Virtuosi Racing’s team-mates Jack Doohan and Amaury Cordeel completing 69 and 68 laps respectively.

Morning session results

Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m23.943s   47
2 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m24.595s +0.652s 38
3 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m24.762s +0.819s 35
4 Arthur Leclerc DAMS 1m24.851s +0.908s 52
5 Kush Maini Campos Racing 1m25.050s +1.107s 39
6 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m25.138s +1.195s 27
7 Richard Verschoor Van Amersfoort Racing 1m25.346s +1.403s 61
8 Roman Stanek Trident 1m25.539s +1.596s 40
9 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m25.819s +1.876s 58
10 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m25.915s +1.972s 51
11 Clement Novalak Trident 1m25.981s +2.038s 30
12 Jehan Daruvala MP Motorsport 1m26.237s +2.294s 51
13 Enzo Fittipaldi Carlin 1m26.254s +2.311s 55
14 Brad Benavides PHM by Charouz 1m26.346s +2.403s 59
15 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m26.850s +2.907s 55
16 Amaury Cordeel Virtuosi Racing 1m27.444s +3.501s 68
17 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m27.905s +3.962s 40
18 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m27.911s +3.968s 34
19 Frederik Vesti Prema 1m28.628s +4.685s 41
20 Roy Nissany PHM by Charouz 1m28.920s +4.983s 58
21 Jack Doohan Virtuosi Racing 1m29.276s +5.333s 69
22 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m29.479s +5.536s 40