Home Formula 3GB3 Ping leads Arden VRD 1-2 in reversed-grid GB3 race at Silverstone

Ping leads Arden VRD 1-2 in reversed-grid GB3 race at Silverstone

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Arden VRD’s Noah Ping took a maiden GB3 victory in race three at Silverstone, as penalties denied Callum Voisin and Oliver Stewart podiums.

Elite Motorsport’s Ayato Iwasaki lined up on reversed-grid pole ahead of team-mate Stewart. Iwasaki made the better start to lead into Copse ahead of Ping, who passed Edward Pearson and Stewart into second.

Ping then darted to the inside of Iwasaki into Brooklands to take the lead before the first lap was completed.

Arthur Rogeon soon took fourth away from Fortec Motorsport’s Pearson, who then fell back into the clutches of JHR’s David Morales.

After running wide while trying to make a move around the outside, Morales then had minor contact with Arden VRD driver Nico Christodolou. That allowed Rodin Carlin’s Voisin, who had started 12th, to pick off the pair on the Wellington Straight and climb to fifth.

Ping pulled out a 2s lead at the front, while Stewart incurred a 5s penalty for exceeding track limits in his pursuit of Iwasaki.

Stewart eventually took second from his team-mate into Stowe on lap eight of 12, with Voisin also passing Rogeon for fourth on the exit of Club and then Iwasaki for third into Brooklands on the same lap.

Christodoulou picked off Iwasaki next time by at Brooklands, with Iwaski also losing out to Rogeon at the same corner on the penultimate lap.

Now carrying a 5s penalty for track limits as well, Voisin wrestled second from Stewart out of Club on the final lap, but both would lose their podium places at the chequered flag.

Ping came home 3.167s ahead of Voisin, who was demoted to fourth and Stewart relegated to seventh, with Christodoulou and Rogeon promoted to second and third.

Elite ’s McKenzy Cresswell came from 13th to fifth ahead of Hitech GP’s Alex Dunne, who moved up from 18th. Douglas Motorsport’s Tymek Kucharczyk recovered from 24th to eighth, with Iwasaki ninth and Hedley 10th.

Carlin’s John Bennett, who looks set to lose both his race one and two victories due to penalties once the results of those contests are officially declared, rose from 19th to 11th. 

Points leader Joseph Loake, who is likely to be awarded those wins instead of Bennett, lost his front-wing at Stowe on the opening lap and finished 20th, with JHR Developments team-mate Matthew Rees joining him in making an early pitstop after a separate incident at the Vale with Hillspeed’s Daniel Mavlyutov.

Fortec Motorsport’s Max Esterson also lost his front wing and pitted during the race, while JHR’s David Morales retired with an issue

Race result (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Noah Ping Arden VRD 23m11.463s
2 Nico Christodoulou Arden VRD +4.191s
3 Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing +6.799s
4 Callum Voisin Carlin +8.167s
5 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport +8.247s
6 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +8.574s
7 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport +9.005s
8 Tymek Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport +9.465s
9 Ayato Iwasaki Elite Motorsport +12.791s
10 James Hedley Arden +18.130s
11 John Bennett Carlin +20.196s
12 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports +20.294s
13 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing +20.545s
14 Costa Toparis Carlin +23.915s
15 Lucas Staico Douglas Motorsport +24.974s
16 Shawn Rashid Douglas Motorsport +25.144s
17 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed +31.353s
18 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed +35.518s
19 Michael Shin Hitech GP +37.840s
20 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +1m11.679s
21 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports +1m32.873s
22 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports +1 lap
23 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +2 laps
Ret David Morales JHR Developments
DNS Souta Arao Hitech GP
Fastest lap: Kucharczyk, 1m54.331s

Championship standings
 Loake 140   2 Voisin 112   Hedley 94   4 Bennett 91   5 Rees 90   6 Dunne 83   7 Kucharczyk 83   8 Toparis 68   9 Cresswell 64   10 Waberski 63