Home Featured Pedro Clerot doubles up in Spanish F4 at Spa

Pedro Clerot doubles up in Spanish F4 at Spa

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotocar13

MP Motorsport’s Pedro Clerot doubled up in Spanish F4 race two at Spa-Francorchamps after coming out on top of a last lap battle with team-mate Valerio Rinicella.

Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael claimed the last podium place from ninth on the grid, having made the most of two safety car restarts.

A good getaway gave Clerot the lead of the race as the lights went out, passing poleman Keanu Al Azhari.

Campos Racing’s Noah Stromsted, who had passed Rinicella at the start, overtook Al Azhari on lap two to gain second place.

The safety car was deployed towards the end of the lap to clear the car of MP’s Alvise Rodella, who had come to a halt at the exit of La Source after contact with Campos’s Christian Ho.

The track went green again with nine minutes remaining on the clock. Stromsted placed himself alongside Clerot at the Kemmel Straight and went for the move at Les Combes. Clerot touched Stromsted’s rear-right tyre, which resulted in both drivers cutting the corner and the latter becoming the new race leader.

Behind them, an aggressive overtaking attempt from Campos’s Enzo Deligny on Rodin Carlin’s Alex Ninovic at that same corner led to contact between them. The safety car was out for a second time as Ninovic spun and got stuck in a gravel trap.

Al Azhari was also forced to retire at turn nine while he was running in third place.

The race restarted with just over two minutes on the clock for two laps of racing. Stromsted dropped from first to fifth place after Les Combes, with Clerot reclaiming the lead of the race. The Dane would yet lose two more places in the following corners, but eventually repassed team-mate Matteo de Palo to come home in sixth.

On the last lap, Rinicella drove past Clerot at Kemmel, but the Brazilian reclaimed first place around the outside of the first apex at Les Combes thanks to a strong braking into the corner.

The race was run to 18 minutes plus one lap, despite the championship having announced an extended length for all three races of the weekend before the start of the season.

Race result (7 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Pedro Clerot MP Motorsport
2 Valerio Rinciella MP Motorsport +0.304s
3 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +0.532s
4 Enzo Deligny Campos Racing +0.823s
5 Noah Lisle Carlin +2.387s
6 Noah Stromsted Campos Racing +2.548s
7 Matteo De Palo Campos Racing +3.114s
8 Jeronimo Berrio MP Motorsport +3.277s
9 Federico Al Rifai Carlin +4.056s
10 Flavio Olivieri Cram Motorsport +4.778s
11 Daniel Macia GRS +5.320s
12 Ricardo Gracia Monlau Motorsport +5.993s
13 Alexander Bolduev Drivex School +6.773s
14 Luciano Morano Sainteloc Racing +7.285s
15 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +7.378s
16 Carl Bennett GRS +7.683s
17 Pablo Sarrazin Monlau Motorsport +7.737s
18 Griffin Peebles Tecnicar Motorsport +7.851s
19 Juan Cota Drivex School +7.996s
20 Alexander Abkhazava Drivex School +8.652s
21 Daniel Nogales Drivex School +8.912s
22 Eric Gene Tecnicar Motorsport +9.408s
23 George Zhuravskiy Drivex School +12.084s
24 Fernando Barrichello Monlau Motorsport +12.294s
25 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Campos Racing +12.408s
26 Christian Ho Campos Racing +14.830s
27 Maxi Restrepo Drivex School +14.985s
Ret Keanu Al Azhari MP Motorsport
Ret Alex Ninovic Carlin
Ret Alvise Rodella MP Motorsport
Fastest lap: Ho, 2m23.598s