Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Parry cruises to Spa win after front row duo collide

Parry cruises to Spa win after front row duo collide

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Matt Parry has taken his fifth victory in this year’s Formula Renault 2.0 NEC series after inheriting the lead in race two as front row starters Oscar Tunjo and Jack Aitken came together on the first lap.

With race winner Tunjo immediately out of the race and Aitken shuffled way down the order, eventually recovering to pick up one point in 20th, Parry had little in the way potential threats for the lead and eventually crossed the line two seconds off of ART’s Andrea Pizzitola.

The Frenchman himself enjoyed a fighting drive, first passing Ryan Tveter for third in the opening stages of the race, and then managing to steal second away from Raoul Owens, who rounded out the podium. Tveter came in fourth, ahead of Tanart Sathienthirakul and Roman Mavlanov. Dennis Olsen came in second, ahead of eighth-placed Roman Beregech, while Sam MacLeod picked up a top ten finish in his first weekend of Formula Renault 2.0 NEC racing, placing in ninth. Nicolas Jamin rounded out the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 11 laps in 26:14.948
2 Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team +2.041
3 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Racing +3.229
4 Ryan Tveter Fortec Competition +6.446
5 Tanart Sathienthirakul ART Junior Team +13.713
6 Roman Mavlanov RC Formula +13.855
7 Dennis Olsen Josef Kaufmann Racing +14.279
8 Roman Beregech Fortec Competition +16.741
9 Samuel MacLeod Fortec Motorsports +19.090
10 Nicolas Jamin ART Junior Team +20.116
11 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +23.850
12 Alberto di Folco ART Junior Team +31.102
13 Alfonso Celis Fortec Competition +37.635
14 Julio Moreno JTR Racing +38.216
15 Andres Mendez Mark Burdett Racing +40.521
16 Patric Armand Fortec Motorsports +46.575
17 Juan Branger JD Motorsport +47.604
18 Sean Walkinshaw SL Formula +51.766
19 Bob Siska SL Formula +2:27.872
20 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +1 lap
21 Jakub Smiechowski Euro Interpol +1 lap
Not classifed
Fran Rueda AV Formula +5 laps
Corinna Kamper Fortec Competition +10 laps
Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing +11 laps
Cedric Freiburghaus SL Formula +11 laps
Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport +11 laps