Home News MP Motorsport’s Pedro Clerot wins shortened Spanish F4 opener at Spa

MP Motorsport’s Pedro Clerot wins shortened Spanish F4 opener at Spa

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 UAE

MP Motorsport’s Pedro Clerot won in mixed conditions at Spa-Francorchamps in a shortened opening race of the Spanish Formula 4 season.

Clerot started on pole but was beaten to the opening corner by team-mate Keanu Al Azhari. Fifth-placed qualifier Federico Al Rifai spun exiting La Source, and was thankfully avoided, and a three-wide for second took place behind Al Azhari down the Kemmel Straight.

A big lock-up approaching Les Combes for Noah Stromsted meant he stayed in fourth, behind Clerot and Christian Ho, while the wet track caught out Theodor Jensen who went off and got stuck in the gravel, meaning the safety car was required.

Racing resumed on lap four and Clerot regained the lead by slipstreaming past Al Azhari down the Kemmel Straight. There was more drama as Flavio Olivieri got stuck in the Les Combes gravel, meaning the wheel-to-wheel action was paused as the safety car came out again.

By the time it returned to the pits it was lap six, and the track was dry bar the final sector which a rain cloud floated above. That made for unpredictable scenes as drivers came across the change in grip, and Carl Bennett and Enzo Deligny flew off when they encountered the wet track surface for the first time.

Clerot was without threat up front, but Ho attacked Al Azhari hard for second and they went side-by-side up Eau Rouge. He got ahead by going off exiting the corner, avoiding the barriers despite driving on the wetter run-off, and was allowed to keep the position.

Rain started to appear in more places, catching out Valerio Rinicella who fell from fifth to eighth, then spun down to 19th, and race control decided to red flag the race on lap nine as three cars hit trouble.

The results were taken from the end of lap seven, before Al Azhari had also suffered a drop down the order, and it meant Clerot won ahead of Ho and Al Azhari. Stromsted finished fourth, ahead of Rodin Carlin duo Alex Ninovic and Noah Lisle on the team’s series debut. Jensen rejoined the race after being rescued but was black-flagged at the end.

Race result (7 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Pedro Clerot MP Motorsport 21m40.854s
2 Christian Ho Campos Racing +0.843s
3 Keanu Al Azhari MP Motorsport +1.364s
4 Noah Stromsted Campos Racing +1.863s
5 Alex Ninovic Carlin +3.061s
6 Noah Lisle Carlin +3.320s
7 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +4.689s
8 Jeronimo Berrio MP Motorsport +5.696s
9 Matteo De Palo Campos Racing +6.564s
10 Daniel Nogales Drivex School +6.602s
11 Daniel Macia GRS +7.367s
12 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Campos Racing +7.922s
13 Ricardo Gracia Monlau Motorsport +8.269s
14 Carl Bennett GRS +9.284s
15 Alexander Abkhazava Drivex School +9.924s
16 Luciano Morano Sainteloc Racing +10.160s
17 Griffin Peebles Tecnicar Motorsport +12.116s
18 Juan Cota Drivex School +12.205s
19 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +13.019s
20 Alvise Rodella MP Motorsport +13.081s
21 Pablo Sarrazin Monlau Motorsport +13.124s
22 Enzo Deligny Campos Racing +13.688s
23 Federico Al Rifai Carlin +15.269s
24 Fernando Barrichello Monlau Motorsport +15.452s
25 Eric Gene Tecnicar Motorsport +16.217s
26 George Zhuravskiy Drivex School +20.913s
27 Maxi Restrepo Drivex School +24.360s
28 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +1 lap
Ret Flavio Olivieri Cram Motorsport
Ret Alexander Bolduev Drivex School
Fastest lap: Ho, 2m27.858s