Home Featured Miyata leads afternoon filled with race runs on day two of F2 testing

Miyata leads afternoon filled with race runs on day two of F2 testing

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Rodin Motorsport’s Ritomo Miyata topped the times in a slower afternoon session on day two of Formula 2’s in-season testing at Barcelona.

Track temperature was higher than in the morning session, but still far from what is expected in June when the championship will race at the circuit. The session was mainly devoted to race runs as well as testing different set-up configurations, with only four drivers doing a qualifying simulation.

The red flag was waved 15 minutes into the session as Franco Colapinto ran off-the-track at turn seven. His car was recovered and returned to the pit-lane without any visible damage, and was out on track again in the last hour to end the session with 37 laps on the board.

Hitech GP, Campos Racing and Trident went out on track early once green flag conditions returned to complete race simulations. Other teams followed later on.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Enzo Fittipaldi led the charts for most of the session with a laptime of 1m26.807s, which he lowered to 1m25.719s in the last hour to be fifth fastest in the end.

With two new sets of the soft compound remaining, Rodin and Invicta racing sent their drivers out on track for a full qualifying simulation with over half-an-hour remaining.

Miyata was fastest followed by Maloney, with Invicta’s Gabriel Bortoleto slotting in-between them at the end of the first run.

Only the McLaren F1 junior was able to improve his laptime on the second run. He did so by tiny 0.053 seconds, which was not enough to beat Miyata’s benchmark.

Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Ritomo Miyata Rodin Motorsport 1m24.878s 33
2 Gabriel Bortoleto Virtuosi Racing 1m25.014 +0.136s 26
3 Zane Maloney Rodin Motorsport 1m25.082 +0.204s 26
4 Kush Maini Virtuosi Racing 1m25.084 +0.206s 47
5 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m25.712 +0.834s 28
6 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.013 +1.135s 33
7 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m26.803 +1.925s 30
8 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m26.883 +2.005s 58
9 Roman Stanek Trident 1m27.262 +2.384s 23
10 Paul Aron Hitech GP 1m27.451 +2.573s 53
11 Amaury Cordeel Hitech GP 1m27.840 +2.962s 51
12 Isack Hadjar Campos Racing 1m27.904 +3.026s 46
13 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m28.053 +3.175s 44
14 Joshua Duerksen PHM Racing 1m28.516 +3.638s 46
15 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m29.252 +4.374s 37
16 Jak Crawford DAMS 1m29.336 +4.458s 51
17 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS 1m29.755 +4.877s 49
18 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m29.857 +4.979s 37
19 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m30.093 +5.215s 52
20 Zak O’Sullivan ART Grand Prix 1m30.400 +5.522s 68
21 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m30.616 +5.737s 38
22 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m30.707 +5.829s 45