Home Featured Mini claims maiden Formula 3 win in Monaco feature race

Mini claims maiden Formula 3 win in Monaco feature race

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Alpine Racing

Hitech GP’s Gabriele Mini claimed his maiden Formula 3 victory in the feature race at Monaco in lights-to-flag fashion.

The Italian resisted pressure from Prema’s Dino Beganovic, who finished second after driving the whole race within one second of Mini. Paul Aron was third almost seventh seconds behind the leading pair.

Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli couldn’t get his car moving on the formation lap. The Italian was pushed back to the pit-lane and started the race from there, missing out on his top 10 grid position.

Mini led away from pole position as the top six drivers held on to their starting places. Behind them, drivers attempted to make the most of the opening lap.

MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto, Trident’s Gabriel Bortoleto and Jenzer Motorsport’s Taylor Barnard went three-wide into Saint Devote. The Briton —on the inside— cut the corner and gained two places, moving up from ninth to seventh in the order.

The stewards handed Barnard a 10-second time penalty for leaving the track and gaining advantage. Hugh Barter received a five-second time penalty for the same reason further down the field.

Rodin Carlin team-mates Ollie Gray and Ido Cohen went side by side into Tabac. Cohen couldn’t hold the outside line and crashed into the barrier, bringing the safety car out.

The race resumed at the end of lap five of 28 without changes in the running order.

Halfway through the race, Mini and Beganovic started to break away at the front.

Hitech’s Luke Browning put pressure on Prema’s Aron, who struggled for pace, but was unable to find the way past the Estonian for the last podium spot.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Caio Collet and Hitech’s Sebastian Montoya battled for fifth place. On lap 18, Montoya closed up after Collet exited slowly from Saint Devote and touched the rear of the Brazilian up the hill heading into Massenet.

Collet retired with a puncture in his rear-left tyre, whereas Montoya ended one lap down as he had to pit for a new front wing. The Red Bull junior was handed a 10-second time penalty for the collision.

Barnard took the chequered flag in fifth place, but was demoted to eighth once the penalty was applied.

Bortoleto rounded off the top five, with Colapinto, Prema’s Zak O’Sullivan, Barnard, Campos’ Pepe Marti and ART Grand Prix’s Gregoire Saucy completing the top ten.

Race result (27 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 41m45.651s
2 Dino Beganovic Prema +0.452s
3 Paul Aron Prema +7.214s
4 Luke Browning Hitech GP +7.563s
5 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident +19.495s
6 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +19.900s
7 Zak O’Sullivan Prema +20.978s
8 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport +25.764s
9 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +26.192s
10 Gregoire Saucy ART GP +27.276s
11 Nikola Tsolov ART GP +27.726s
12 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport +28.514s
13 Oliver Goethe Trident +29.340s
14 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport +32.109s
15 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +32.825s
16 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing +36.420s
17 Christian Mansell Campos Racing +39.475s
18 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +40.818s
19 Ollie Gray Carlin +47.339s
20 Hunter Yeany Carlin +47.869s
21 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport +48.867s
22 Piotr Wisnicki PHM by Charouz +49.536s
23 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz +50.182s
24 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +50.570s
25 Kaylen Frederick ART GP +56.762s
26 Hugh Barter Campos Racing +1m18.723s
27 Roberto Faria PHM by Charouz +1m22.120s
28 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP +1 lap
Ret Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Ido Cohen Carlin
Fastest lap: Mini, 1m25.165s

Championship standings
 Bortoleto 73   2 Mini 56   3 Saucy 47   4 Beganovic 46   5 Aron 38   6 Marti 37   7 Browning 29   8 Fornaroli 28   9 O’Sullivan 26   10 Colapinto 25