Home Formula 4GB4 Mills great for win number eight in second GB4 race at Silverstone

Mills great for win number eight in second GB4 race at Silverstone

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Tom Mills took his second GB4 victory of the weekend at Silverstone in a race that finished behind the safety car.

The Kevin Mills Racing driver converted pole into the lead at the start, while Evans GP’s Cooper Webster rose two places to take second from Fortec Motorsports’ Colin Queen.

Queen tried to reclaim the position from Webster into Brooklands a couple of times, but was then passed through Maggotts and Becketts by Fox Motorsport’s Liam McNeilly, who had made a better exit from Copse.

Ruhaan Alva capitalised on the battle to snatch fourth from Queen, moving around the outside of his team-mate at Stowe. Queen tried to retake the position for several laps, eventually moving alongside into Stowe before making the move stick into Club.

Mills pulled out a five-second lead, and extended it by a further second during light drizzle before the safety car was deployed with less than five minutes remaining when VRD’s Zack Ping ended up in the gravel at Vale while trying to fend off Fortec’s Aditya Kulkarni for seventh.

The cars lined up for a potential final-lap restart, but the allotted time ran out before the cars crossed the line, with Mills winning ahead of Webster and McNeilly.

Queen was fourth ahead of Alva, with KMR’s Jack Clifford losing one place at the start to finish sixth.

Kulkarni was seventh ahead of Harry Burgoyne Jnr and Erik Evans, while Sid Smith stalled at the start and eventually came home 10th.

Race result (8 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing 18m21.731
2 Cooper Webster Evans GP +0.510s
3 Liam McNeilly Fox Motorsport +0.822s
4 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports +0.948s
5 Ruhaan Alva Fortec Motorsports +1.503s
6 Jack Clifford Kevin Mills Racing +1.805s
7 Aditya Kulkarni Fortec Motorsports +2.145s
8 Harry Burgoyne Jr Graham Brunton Racing +2.493s
9 Erik Evans Velocity Racing Development +2.932s
10 Sid Smith Fox Motorsport +3.288s
11 Dylan Hotchin +3.784s
12 Thomas Lee Evans GP +4.743s
Ret Zack Ping Velocity Racing Development
Fastest lap: Mills, 2m01.180s

Championship standings
1 Mills 422   2 Webster 324   3 McNeilly 279   4 Queen 274   5 Jeremy Fairbairn 190   6 Burgoyne 175   7 Kulkarni 172   8 Alva 165   9 Clifford 164   10 Smith 138