Home News Mills completes Donington Park GB4 hat-trick

Mills completes Donington Park GB4 hat-trick

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Tom Mills dominated Sunday morning’s GB4 race at Donington Park to take his third win of the weekend.

This time it wasn’t a lights-to-flag triumph due to Fortec Motorsports’ Ruhaan Alva jumping the start and leading into Redgate, for which he incurred a 10-second time penalty.

Mills wrestled second away from polesitter Colin Queen on the opening lap after a wheel to wheel battle from the Craner Curves to Macleans.

Mills then took the lead away from Alva at the start of the lap two and had built a 3.2 second gap by the time Queen eventually passed Fortec team-mate Alva for second at the Fogarty esses.

Alva became airborne on a kerb and dropped to sixth. That promoted Evans GP’s Cooper Webster to third ahead of Fox Motorsport’s Liam McNeilly and Elite Motorsport’s Josh Irfan, and the trio applied pressure on Queen over the next few laps while Mills pulled further clear at the front.

A lunge from Irfan ended up spinning McNeilly down the order and damaging his own front wing in the process.

Queen dramatically spun on the final lap and dropped to fourth, but was promoted to third at the finish due to Alva’s penalty.

Mills came home 7.3s clear of Webster, who took his third runner-up spot of the weekend. KMR’s Jeremy Fairbairn was fourth ahead of Alva and Aditya Kulkarni.

Sid Smith held off Fox team-mate McNeilly for seventh, with Graham Brunton Racing’s Harry Burgoyne and Evans GP’s Kai Daryanami completing the top 10.

KMR’s Jack Clifford rear-ended Irfan on the final lap, putting both out, while Iran’s team-mate Harri Reynolds ended up in the gravel moments before in a separate incident.

Race result (13 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Tom Mills KMR Sport 19m08.949s
2 Cooper Webster Evans GP +7.330s
3 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports +12.953s
4 Jeremy Fairbairn KMR Sport +13.398s
5 Ruhaan Alva Fortec Motorsports +20.858s
6 Aditya Kulkarni Fortec Motorsports +21.783s
7 Sid Smith Fox Motorsport +24.389s
8 Liam McNeilly Fox Motorsport +24.483s
9 Harry Burgoyne Graham Brunton Racing +26.959s
10 Kai Daryanani Evans GP +28.354s
11 Thomas Lee Evans GP +57.713s
Ret Josh Irfan Elite Motorsport
Ret Jack Clifford KMR Sport
Ret Harri Reynolds Elite Motorsport
Ret Dylan Hotchin
Fastest lap: Mills, 1m27.456s


Championship standings
Mills 244   2 Queen 163   3 Webster 154   2 McNeilly 153   5 Fairbairn 143   6 Reynolds 120   7 Burgoyne 98   8 Alva 91   9 Clifford 85   10 Kulkarni 78