Home Featured Meguetounif wins as F3 feature race goes awry for Trident team-mates

Meguetounif wins as F3 feature race goes awry for Trident team-mates

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Sami Meguetounif claimed victory in FIA Formula 3’s feature race at Imola after overtaking Oliver Goethe in a late charge.

Despite starting from pole, Trident’s Santiago Ramos struggled for most of the race and scored just four points by finishing eighth. Meanwhile, team-mate and local star Leonardo Fornaroli made the podium in third after being hindered by a technical issue.

All three of Trident’s drivers enjoyed a good getaway and held on to their starting positions. Behind them, it was Goethe who made the moves. The Campos Racing driver gained two places from seventh on the grid, then moved up to fourth by passing Prema’s Arvid Lindblad. Hitech GP’s Luke Browning also climbed two positions to be seventh at the end of lap one. Conversely, Prema’s Gabriele Mini was slow off the line and fell from sixth to 11th place.

Fornaroli took the lead of the race from Ramos heading into the Tamburello chicane on lap three of 22, while Goethe passed Meguetounif to end Trident’s monopoly on the podium positions. The Red Bull junior continued his charge, taking second from Ramos on lap five.

One lap later he was in the lead as Fornaroli slowed down on the main straight with a technical issue and dropped to fifth before he could return to racing speed.

Fornaroli was then on a mission to recover the ground lost. He drove past Lindblad after several laps of battling and then passed Ramos, who had been overtaken by Meguetounif a few laps before.

Meguetounif’s reminder from his engineer to “drive smooth” early on in the race paid off, as the Frenchman closed the gap on Goethe and overtook him on lap 18. He then broke away up front, leaving Goethe to hold off Fornaroli for second.

Ramos visibly struggled for grip halfway through the race and lost fourth place to Browning, who had previously overtaken Prema duo Dino Beganovic and Lindblad. As the race progressed, Lindblad joined Ramos in starting to drop backwards and by lap 15 they were seventh and eighth.

Further down the order, Campos’s Mari Boya and Sebastian Montoya charged through the field. Boya climbed from 27th to ninth, and Montoya rose from 24th to 11th. He then picked up the last point for 10th place when Hitech’s Martinius Stenshorne was penalised.

Race results (22 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Sami Meguetounif Trident 35m12.897s
2 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing +2.791s
3 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +3.368s
4 Luke Browning Hitech GP +3.686s
5 Dino Beganovic Prema +5.724s
6 Gabriele Mini Prema +6.972s
7 Arvid Lindblad Prema +11.575s
8 Santiago Ramos Trident +12.736s
9 Mari Boya Campos Racing +13.098s
10 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing +14.769s
11 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport +18.634s
12 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +21.658s
13 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +22.654s
14 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP +23.516s
15 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport +23.554s
16 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport +24.295s
17 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport +25.720s
18 Cian Shields Hitech GP +29.529s
19 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing +30.045s
20 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix +31.500s
21 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport +32.271s
22 Joshua Dufek AIX Racing +35.023s
23 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport +37.573s
24 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport +40.316s
25 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport +40.585s
26 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix +42.360s
27 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak AIX Racing +51.428s
28 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +59.188s
29 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport +1m16.623s
30 Nikita Bedrin AIX Racing +1 lap
Fastest lap: Goethe, 1m33.817s

Championship standings
1 Fornaroli 52   2 Browning 49   3 Beganovic 45   4 Mini 45   5 Goethe 41   6 Meguetounif 38   7 Lindblad 32   8 Tramnitz 30   9 van Hoepen 22   10 Mansell 20