Home Formula 3Euroformula Mason victorious in F3 Open race one

Mason victorious in F3 Open race one

by Gruz David

Photo: FOTOSPEEDY/f3open.net

Nelson Mason claimed victory in the opening race of the F3 Open season at Paul Ricard.

The drivers had to start the 2013 season under difficult conditions in a foggy and rainy Saturday afternoon in southern France. The race was started behind the safety car, however, after four laps, the race was on.

Despite the demanding weather, pole-sitter Mason couldn’t be disturbed by anything or anyone, as he pulled away from Hector Hurst and Roberto La Rocca and won the race in a commanding way. The order of the top three didn’t change, so Hurst and La Rocca got to listen to the Canadian anthem alongside Mason.

Despite Santiago Urrutia overtaking Sandy Stuvik for fourth early on, the Uruguayan fell back after an accident. Alexey Chuklin?finished fifth, closely followed by Alex Toril and Alexandre Cougnaud.

Italian trio Mattia Vita, Mario Marasca and Luca Orlandi completed the top ten. The?Copa class winner was Team West-Tec’s Cameron Twynham, who finished eleventh overall.

The second race of the first round will be held tomorrow at 12.35 GMT.


Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nelson Mason Team West-Tec 35:11.955
2 Hector Hurst EmillioDeVillota + 3.361
3 Roberto La Rocca Team West-Tec +?8.539
4 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport +?9.207
5 Alexey Chuklin EmillioDeVillota +?19.908
6 Alexander Toril RP Motorsport +?22.518
7 Alexandre Cougnaud RP Motorsport +?22.614
8 Mattia Vita Top F3 +?28.138
9 Mario Marasca BVM +?35.985
10 Luca Orlandi Team West-Tec +?37.095
11 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec +?38.749
12 Andr?s Saravia EmillioDeVillota +?39.444
13 Che One Lim EmillioDeVillota +?40.359
14 Liam Venter Team West-Tec +?41.018
15 Gerardo Nieto DAV Racing +?41.105
16 Tommaso Menchini Corbetta Compeitizoni +?41.746
17 Igor Urien EmillioDeVillota +?42.658
18 Nicholas Pohler DAV Racing +?43.081
19 Damiano Fioravanti Corbetta Compeitizoni +?52.807
20 Sean Walkinshaw Team West-Tec +?1:00.693
21 Huan Zhu Team West-Tec +?1:01.669
22 Artur Janosz Campos Racing +?1:26.388
23 Vicky Piria BVM +?2:17.886
24 Santiago Urrutia RP Motorsport +?1 Lap
25 Spencer Pigot Team West-Tec +?1 Lap
26 Yarin Stern EmillioDeVillota +?1 Lap
27 Lorenzo Paggi Corbetta Compeitizoni +?1 Lap
28 Denis Nagulin Campos Racing +?3 Laps
Valeria Carballo Campos Racing +?5 Laps
Saud Al Faisal RP Motorsport +?5 Laps
Richard Gonda Drivex School +?5 Laps