Home Featured Marti takes lights-to-flag home win in FIA F3’s Barcelona feature race

Marti takes lights-to-flag home win in FIA F3’s Barcelona feature race

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Pepe Marti contributed to Campos Racing’s 25th anniversary celebrations with his first FIA Formula 3 feature race victory at Barcelona.

The Spaniard came home 4.463 seconds ahead of MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto, with Prema’s Dino Beganovic third, while points leader Gabriel Bortoleto repeated his result from Saturday’s sprint race in fourth.

Jenzer Motorsport’s Taylor Barnard lined up from the front row alongside Marti and made a bid for the lead at the start before running off track at turn one. He rejoined alongside Marti before turn three but was forced to concede.

Hitech GP’s Luke Browning and Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli, who both finished on the podium in Saturday’s contest, collided under braking for turn four. Browning stopped on track with suspension damage, triggering an early safety car period.

Racing resumed on lap seven of 25, and Marti swiftly built a one-second advantage over Barnard, who soon came under pressure from behind.

Colapinto passed Barnard into turn one on lap 11, with Beganovic taking third from Barnard into the same corner next time by.

Marti continued to pull clear over the remaining laps for a commanding third win of the season, and Colapinto came home six seconds clear of Beganovic.

Bortoleto took fourth from Barnard into turn one on lap 16, with Prema’s Paul Aron also making it by a few corners later before finishing 0.6s behind Bortoleto in fifth.

Mari Boya was sixth for MP Motorsport ahead of Hitech’s Sebastian Montoya. Barnard finished ninth after losing out to sprint race winner Zak O’Sullivam late on.

Campos driver Christian Mansell climbed from 16th to the points in 10th, while Gabriele Mini slipped from second to fourth in the standings behind Marti and Beganovic after failing to score in 14th.

Carlin’s Hunter Yeany retired after bouncing over a kerb at turn two and then colliding with Rafael Villagomez, Fornaroli also stopped late on, while Gregoire Saucy was hampered by a puncture.

Race result (25 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 41m21.348s
2 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +4.463s
3 Dino Beganovic Prema +10.445s
4 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident +13.488s
5 Paul Aron Prema +14.156s
6 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +19.500s
7 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP +19.874s
8 Zak O’Sullivan Prema +23.707s
9 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport +25.072s
10 Christian Mansell Campos Racing +26.155s
11 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport +27.901s
12 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing +28.340s
13 Hugh Barter Campos Racing +31.930s
14 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP +32.354s
15 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport +34.282s
16 Oliver Goethe Trident +35.843s
17 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix +37.857s
18 Ollie Gray Carlin +39.270s
19 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix +39.750s
20 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz +40.313s
21 Piotr Wisnicki PHM by Charouz +41.037s
22 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport +44.416s
23 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +47.605s
24 Roberto Faria PHM by Charouz +52.398s
25 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing +58.061s
26 Ido Cohen Carlin +59.023s
27 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +1 lap
Ret Leonardo Fornaroli Trident
Ret Hunter Yeany Carlin
Ret Luke Browning Hitech GP
Fastest lap: Marti, 1m31.964s

Championship standings
Bortoleto 92   2 Marti 68   3 Beganovic 61   4 Mini 56   5 Aron 54   6 Colapinto 48   7 Saucy 47   8 O’Sullivan 41   9 Browning 38   10 Fornaroli 36