Home Formula 3Euroformula Sato extends Euroformula Open lead with Spa-Francorchamps win

Sato extends Euroformula Open lead with Spa-Francorchamps win

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Marino Sato extended his Euroformula Open championship lead with a third victory of the season at Spa-Francorchamps.

The Japanese driver was unrivalled in the race, with Motopark team-mate Yuki Tsunoda following him home 2.974 seconds behind.

Liam Lawson ensured the German team locked out the podium, climbing from eighth on the grid to third within a lap. Although he couldn’t keep up with his two Japanese team-mates, his recovery job ensured he can still match Sato on points leaving the weekend.

His fellow Red Bull junior Jack Doohan finished fourth for Double R Racing, ahead of the fourth Motopark car of Julian Hanses and Carlin’s Christian Hahn.

RP Motorsport marked its championship return with seventh place for Javier Gonzalez, who was followed by Teppei Natori (Carlin), Linus Lundqvist (Double R) and Billy Monger (Carlin) across the line.

Pierre-Louis Chovet brought the second RP Motorsport car home in 13th place, while Franco Colapinto won the rookie battle over Stefano Leaney in 15th. While Colapinto was driving for Drivex School, Leaney was – alongside with Stuart Wiltshire – marking the first EF Open appearance of CF Racing.


Race results (13 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Marino Sato Motopark 28m57.936s
2 Yuki Tsunoda Motopark +2.974s
3 Liam Lawson Motopark +6.384s
4 Jack Doohan Double R Racing +9.655s
5 Julian Hanses Motopark +12.742s
6 Christian Hahn Carlin +17.645s
7 Javier Gonzalez RP Motorsport +23.218s
8 Teppei Natori Carlin +24.955s
9 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +25.459s
10 Billy Monger Carlin +25.659s
11 Guilherme Samaia Teo Martin Motorsport +30.742s
12 Calan Williams Fortec Motorsports +40.709s
13 Pierre-Louis Chovet RP Motorsport +47.773s
14 Aldo Festante Teo Martin Motorsport +52.128s
15 Franco Colapinto Drivex School +55.044s
16 Stefano Leaney CF Racing +56.157s
17 Rui Andrade Drivex School +1m16.834s
18 Stuart Wiltshire CF Racing +1m32.713s
19 Cameron Das Fortec Motorsports +1m52.831s
20 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +2 laps
Ret Lukas Dunner Teo Martin Motorsport
Fastest lap: Sato, 2m11.738s

Championship standings

1?Sato 131? ?2?Lawson 104? ?3?Tsunoda 98? ?4?Dunner 74? ?5 Hanses 59? ?6?Lundqvist 45? ?7?Doohan 40? ?8 Monger 29? ?9?Hahn 28? ?10?Kjaergaard 28