Home News Lucas Fluxa wins shortened Spanish F4 season opener at Jarama

Lucas Fluxa wins shortened Spanish F4 season opener at Jarama

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: MP Motorsport

MP Motorsport’s Lucas Fluxa controlled a shortened opening race of the Spanish Formula 4 season at Jarama.

He fended off team-mate Keanu Al Azhari at the start, who later came on top of a later battle with Rodin Motorsport’s Thomas Strauven to finish second.

Series sophomore Al Azhari pulled alongside car racing rookie Fluxa at the start, but with the pole slot being on the inside it meant Fluxa was able to keep the lead. Strauven benefitted from Al Azhari’s attempt to persist on the outside line to move up to second exiting turn four.

Behind them, Rodin’s Peter Bounzinelos and MP’s Maciej Gladysz overtook Mattia Colnaghi, who dropped to sixth place.

Monlau Motorsport’s Tim Gerhards spun his team-mate Lenny Ried around at Bugatti hairpin, and as he could rejoin once all the cars had gone by there was no safety car interruption needed.

Having lined up 11th, MP’s Rene Lammers gained two places on the opening lap and continued to make progress as the race went on. He reached sixth place halfway through the race, right before the safety car did appear.

Gerhards had spun at turn one, but he eventually got going again as the safety car left the pitlane. Therefore, racing resumed at the end of that lap.

On the restart Al Azhari reclaimed second from Strauven, who tried to retaliate the following lap. He could not get it done though as he was on the outside line heading into turn one. Campos Racing’s Nathan Tye also used the restart to gain seventh place in detriment of Colnaghi.

The safety car was brought out for a second time when GRS’s Douwe Dedecker ended up beached in the gravel trap at turn one. Difficulties to recover his car meant the race was red flagged and not restarted, with the results taken from the end of lap 11.

Race results (11 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Lucas Fluxa MP Motorsport 18m05.579s
2 Keanu Al Azhari MP Motorsport +1.192s
3 Thomas Strauven Rodin Motorsport +1.405s
4 Peter Bouzinelos Rodin Motorsport +2.131s
5 Maciej Gladysz MP Motorsport +2.526s
6 Rene Lammers MP Motorsport +2.774s
7 Nathan Tye Campos Racing +3.485s
8 Mattia Colnaghi MP Motorsport +3.969s
9 Ernesto Rivera Campos Racing +4.508s
10 Francisco Macedo Drivex School +5.077s
11 Andres Cardenas Campos Racing +5.425s
12 Enzo Tarnvanichkul Campos Racing +5.983s
13 Griffin Peebles MP Motorsport +6.060s
14 Jan Przyrowski Campos Racing +6.145s
15 Yevan David Sainteloc Racing +6.601s
16 Mikkel Pedersen Drivex School +7.112s
17 Preston Lambert Rodin Motorsport +7.505s
18 Gabriel Gomez TC Racing +8.096s
19 Juan Cota Drivex School +8.857s
20 Kirill Kutskov Global Racing Service +9.260s
21 Maxi Restrepo Sainteloc Racing +9.458s
22 Lorenzo Castillo Tecnicar Motorsport +10.127s
23 Adam Hideg Cram Motorsport +12.101s
24 Douwe Dedecker Global Racing Service +12.226s
25 Matus Ryba Drivex School +12.535s
26 Gustaw Wisniewski Tecnicar Motorsport +13.216s
27 Lenny Ried Monlau Motorsport +13.341s
28 Cristian Cantu TC Racing +13.481s
29 Rehan Hakim Monlau Motorsport +13.974s
30 Wiktor Dobrzanski Tecnicar Motorsport +15.318s
31 Filippo Fiorentino Cram Motorsport +16.014s
32 Matteo Quintarelli Sainteloc Racing +16.594s
33 Tim Gerhards Monlau Motorsport +51.141s
34 Daniel Nogales Drivex School +1 lap
Ret James Egozi Campos Racing
Fastest lap: Strauven, 1m33.250s