Home News Lochie Hughes converts USF2000 pole into victory in St. Petersburg

Lochie Hughes converts USF2000 pole into victory in St. Petersburg

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Jay Howard Driver Development’s Lochie Hughes converted pole position into victory in the first USF2000 race of 2023 in St. Petersburg.

The pace car was called out on the opening lap of the race after three cars picked up race-ending damage at Turn 4, with Avery Towns ripping off a wheel with his impact and Danny Dyszelski and Zack Ping also losing parts of their cars.

There was no change to the top seven positions before racing was neutralised, and Hughes continued to lead the way when green flags appeared again on lap five of 20.

The gap to second place grew and shrunk at times, but never went under a second and meant Hughes comfortably won. Evagoras Papasavvas took several attempts to pass Nikita Johnson for second, with the pair a long way ahead of fourth place.

Going on an amazing recovery drive from 15th on the grid to eventually finish in fourth was Simon Sikes, who also set the fastest lap of the race as he picked off car after car on his way up the order.

While he moved up, Future Star Racing duo Andre Castro and Trey Burke both lost places late on.

Race result (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Lochie Hughes JHDD 28m16.0315s
2 Evagoras Papasavvas JHDD +2.4846s
3 Nikita Johnson Velocity Racing Development +3.6408s
4 Simon Sikes Pabst Racing +7.4802s
5 Sam Corry Velocity Racing Development +10.7616s
6 Nicholas d’Orlando Exclusive Autosport +11.8056s
7 Trey Burke Future Star Racing +12.3192s
8 Jacob Douglas Exclusive Autosport +12.7926s
9 Andre Castro Future Star Racing +13.7510s
10 Joey Brienza Exclusive Autosport +13.8853s
11 Mac Clark DEForce Racing +14.5706s
12 Chase Gardner Exclusive Autosport +15.7354s
13 Jorge Garciarce DEForce Racing +16.0988s
14 Louka St.-Jean JHDD +17.2467s
15 Al Morey JHDD +23.0317s
16 Maxwell Jamieon DEForce Racing +25.7118s
17 Elliot Cox SFHR +27.3385s
18 Gordon Scully Velocity Racing Development +28.7365s
Ret Zack Ping Velocity Racing Development
Ret Danny Dyszelski Velocity Racing Development
Ret Avery Towns Exclusive Autosport
Fastest lap: Sikes, 1m12.9259s