Home Formula 4Italian F4 Lindblad starts Italian F4 test on top, Euroformula leader Leon in GP3 car

Lindblad starts Italian F4 test on top, Euroformula leader Leon in GP3 car

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

European junior single-seater teams are testing at Mugello this week, and Tuesday’s action featured GP2, Formula Renault 3.5, Formula Regional and Formula 4 cars.

The 39 F4 drivers were put in their own sessions, while other machinery ran together. Each group got four sessions during the day.

Current FIA Formula 3 teams Jenzer Motorsport and Trident ran their old GP3 cars, and Euroformula points leader Noel Leon set the pace for the latter by 0.133 seconds over Jenzer’s Charlie Wurz. Recently Wurz made his debut in Euroformula, an F3-level series, and made the podium but has primarily been racing in FRegional with mixed results.

Fellow FRegional racers Laurens van Hoepen and Lorenzo Fluxa also got a taste of machinery at a higher level.

They were faster than drivers running in even faster cars, including Laura Villars – who usually drives a FRegional car in the Ultimate Cup Series – in a Jenzer-run GP2 car, Winfield Racing scholar Garrett Berry in another GP2 car and Juju Noda and Giovanni Maschio in ‘F2TR’ class vehicles.

The F4 action began with Kacper Sztuka leading the way, setting a 1m48.768s to top session one by 0.234 seconds over Akshay Bohra and 0.253s over Zachary David in a US Racing 1-2-3.

Prema’s Ugo Ugochukwu was fourth fastest, 0.524s behind, and the top 11 were covered by a second. Having made his Euro 4 debut with Prema last weekend, Freddie Slater was testing for Van Amersfoort Racing. There was seven cars on track run by Prema, and in one of those was believed to be Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior and recently crowned Champions of the Future karting champion Alex Powell who has just turned 16.

The pace was lowered only very slightly in session two, as Prema’s Arvid Lindblad set a 1m48.737s to top the timesheet by a slim 0.052s over both Ugochukwu and David. His Prema team-mate James Wharton was just 0.059s behind in fourth.

Sztuka returned US Racing to the top in session three by going 0.01s faster than Lindblad’s session two benchmark. David was his closest rival, 0.27s behind, and Bohra was third fastest.

All but seven drivers set their fastest laps in the fourth session, where Lindblad led the way by 0.095s over Wharton in a Prema lockout of the top four places. This time the top 16 were covered by less than a second on pace, and neither Sztuka or Bohra improved which left them down in fifth and 11th in the day’s combined timesheet.

Day one results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Noel Leon Trident 1m37.161s 48
2 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m37.294s +0.133s 54
3 Laurens van Hoepen Jenzer Motorsport 1m38.173s +1.012s 52
4 Lorenzo Fluxa Trident 1m38.212s +1.051s 48
5 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m38.489s +1.328s 58
6 #46 XTM Motorsport 1m38.589s +1.428s 62
1 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.396s 68
2 Pedro Clerot Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.456s +0.060s 65
3 #1 R-ace GP 1m44.695s +0.299s 69
4 #903 R-ace GP 1m44.805s +0.409s 69
5 #28 G4 Racing 1m45.140s +0.744s 65
6 Yaroslav Veselaho Winfield Racing School 1m47.495s +3.099s 58
7 #24 G4 Racing 1m49.633s +5.237s 45
Formula 4
1 Arvid Linblad Prema 1m48.345s 68
2 James Wharton Prema 1m48.440s +0.095s 70
3 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 1m48.591s +0.246s 59
4 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema 1m48.666s +0.321s 64
5 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m48.727s +0.382s 58
6 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m48.744s +0.399s 65
7 Matheus Ferreira Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.762s +0.417s 72
8 Zachary David US Racing 1m48.789s +0.444s 59
9 Tuukka Taponen Prema 1m48.828s +0.483s 69
10 James Egozi PHM Racing 1m48.908s +0.563s 68
11 Akshay Bohra US Racing 1m49.002s +0.657s 63
12 Freddie Slater Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.088s +0.743s 71
13 Niko Lacorte Prema 1m49.110s +0.765s 68
14 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi PHM Racing 1m49.144s +0.799s 61
15 Raphael Narac R-ace GP 1m49.255s +0.910s 67
16 Alfio Spina BVM Racing 1m49.304s +0.959s 72
17 Lin Hodenius Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.332s +0.987s 78
18 Jack Beeton Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.373s +1.028s 67
19 Gianmarco Pradel US Racing 1m49.399s +1.054s 61
20 Valentin Kluss PHM Racing 1m49.416s +1.071s 74
21 Kim Hwarang Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.476s +1.131s 73
22 Tina Hausmann AKM Motorsport 1m49.536s +1.191s 71
23 Ariel Elkin Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.537s +1.192s 67
24 Matteo Quintarelli R-ace GP 1m49.586s +1.241s 75
25 Pablo Sarrazin Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.772s +1.427s 67
26 #50 AKM 3 AKM Motorsport 1m49.805s +1.460s 70
27 Alex Powell Prema 1m49.808s +1.463s 68
28 Ruiqi Liu US Racing 1m49.896s +1.551s 58
29 Simon Zhang Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.901s +1.556s 66
30 Giacomo Pedrini PHM Racing 1m49.927s +1.582s 76
31 Finn Wiebelhaus AS Motorsport 1m50.019s +1.674s 83
32 #19 US 2 US Racing 1m50.108s +1.763s 65
33 Ismail Akhmed Van Amersfoort Racing 1m50.237s +1.892s 65
34 Frederik Lund AKM Motorsport 1m50.416s +2.071s 45
35 #60 AKM 4 AKM Motorsport 1m50.496s +2.151s 67
36 Manuel Quondamcarlo AS Motorsport 1m50.645s +2.300s 78
37 Lucas Viisoreanu Real Racing Team 1m50.674s +2.329s 65
38 Victoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m50.814s +2.469s 71
39 #71 Molnar BVM Racing 1m51.294s +2.949s 72