Home Formula 4Italian F4 Lindblad pips Badoer in Italian F4’s pre-event Monza test

Lindblad pips Badoer in Italian F4’s pre-event Monza test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

Arvid Lindblad was fastest by just 0.008 seconds in Italian Formula 4’s four-hour pre-event test session at Monza on Thursday.

US Racing’s Kacper Sztuka led the way in the first 45 minutes, setting a 1m52.947s to sit 0.015s ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Brando Badoer. Prema duo Tuukka Taponen and Lindblad were third and fourth, 0.135s and 0.215s back respectively.

Lindblad moved to the top a few minutes later, setting a 1m52.756s that would go unbeaten to the chequered flag. Badoer set a 1m52.764s to go second fastest, and that lap was also not bettered in the remaining 190 minutes of track action.

Sztuka and Taponen were shuffled into third and fourth, and remained there all the way through to when the session was stopped with 16 minutes to go with red flags after Finn Wiebelhaus got into trouble.

The German’s main programme this year is French F4, but he has already made an Italian F4 outing with AS Motorsport and will race this weekend for Jenzer Motorsport.

Green flags waved again and drivers did start to improve in the final five minutes. Many could beat Lindblad’s first sector time, but were then several tenths of a second back through the remaining sectors.

The top 10 had gone unchanged for over three hours bar VAR’s Jack Beeton going ninth fastest with 90 minutes to go, and there was finally another personal best set when Prema’s Ugo Ugochukwu went seventh with 65 seconds left on the clock.

Taponen improved by 0.052s to go from fourth to third, then five of the top seven on the timesheet bettered Lindblad in sector one in the final minute of the test but not one of them improved their laptimes.

The next two improvers come the chequered flag were Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi and Matteo Quintarelli in 19th and 25th respectively.

NACAM F4 racer Diego de la Torre drove for AKM Motorsport in the test session, and he will be making his Italian F4 debut with the team this weekend.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m52.756s 53
2 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m52.764s +0.008s 53
3 Tuukka Taponen Prema 1m52.905s +0.149s 53
4 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m52.947s +0.191s 56
5 James Wharton Prema 1m53.029s +0.273s 52
6 Matheus Ferreira Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.228s +0.472s 50
7 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 1m53.232s +0.476s 52
8 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.263s +0.507s 48
9 Gianmarco Pradel US Racing 1m53.275s +0.519s 52
10 Jack Beeton Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.311s +0.555s 50
11 Zachary David US Racing 1m53.355s +0.599s 58
12 Akshay Bohra US Racing 1m53.371s +0.615s 55
13 Davide Larini AKM Motorsport 1m53.436s +0.680s 49
14 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema 1m53.465s +0.709s 52
15 Niko Lacorte Prema 1m53.567s +0.811s 53
16 Ruiqi Liu US Racing 1m53.627s +0.871s 56
17 Alfio Spina BVM Racing 1m53.636s +0.880s 48
18 Ariel Elkin Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.664s +0.908s 52
19 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi PHM Racing 1m53.726s +0.970s 53
20 Raphael Narac R-ace GP 1m53.759s +1.003s 55
21 Tina Hausmann AKM Motorsport 1m53.837s +1.081s 50
22 James Egozi PHM Racing 1m53.872s +1.116s 58
23 Andrea Frassineti BVM Racing 1m53.942s +1.186s 44
24 Finn Wiebelhaus Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.994s +1.238s 41
25 Matteo Quintarelli R-ace GP 1m54.019s +1.263s 52
26 Valentin Kluss PHM Racing 1m54.025s +1.269s 55
27 Auelia Nobels Prema 1m54.028s +1.272s 52
28 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m54.147s +1.391s 57
29 Frederik Lund AKM Motorsport 1m54.553s +1.797s 48
30 Guido Luchetti Airflow Racing 1m54.590s +1.834s 46
31 Ismail Akhmed Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.592s +1.836s 40
32 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.635s +1.879s 48
33 Diego de la Torre AKM Motorsport 1m55.314s +2.558s 47
34 Kabir Anurag R-ace GP 1m55.396s +2.640s 49