Home Formula 3GB3 Kucharczyk passes Bennett to take another GB3 win at Spa

Kucharczyk passes Bennett to take another GB3 win at Spa

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Hitech GP’s Tymek Kucharczyk rose to second in the GB3 standings by winning the second race at Spa-Francorchamps.

Weather conditions had improved following race one, which Kucharczyk won, with all drivers fitting slick tyres.

JHR Developments’ John Bennett lined up on pole, and resisted a challenge into La Source from Kucharczyk. The pair went side-by-side again on the Kemmel Straight, with Rodin Motorsport’s Louis Sharp trying to sneak up the inside before backing out.

Bennett remained ahead, and held a 0.4-second advantage for the first two laps. On lap three Kucharczyk snatched the lead before Les Combes, with the safety car deployed moments later after Velocity Racing Development by Arden’s Nikita Johnson slowed from fifth with an issue and stopped at the side of the track.

The green flags were shown at the start of lap six, with Kucharczyk continuing to lead while Sharp challenged Bennett for second into both La Source and Les Combes but could not find a way by. A collision at turn one between Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell and VRD’s Noah Ping while they battled for fourth resulted in the race being neutralised once more, with both drivers retiring.

With not enough time remaining for racing to resume, Kucharczyk took this third GB3 victory behind the safety car ahead of Bennett and Sharp. Rodin’s Ugo Ugochukwu was fourth ahead of Hitech’s Will Macintyre and Chris Dittmann Racing’s Kanato Le. VRD’s Shawn Rashid scored his best non-reversed-grid finish in seventh ahead of CDR’s Seb Murray, Rodin’s Arthur Rogeon and Fortec Motorsports’ Edward Pearson.

Hitech’s Gerrard Xie had an early visit to pitlane and finished 16th, while JHR’s Patrick Heuzenroeder was another to retire early on.

Race results (7 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Tymek Kucharczyk Hitech GP 20m18.681s
2 John Bennett JHR Developments +0.452s
3 Louis Sharp Rodin Motorsport +0.750s
4 Ugo Ugochukwu Rodin Motorsport +0.957s
5 Will Macintyre Hitech GP +1.370s
6 Kanato Le Chris Dittmann Racing +2.097s
7 Shawn Rashid VRD by Arden +2.410s
8 Seb Murray Chris Dittmann Racing +3.354s
9 Arthur Rogeon Rodin Motorsport +4.031s
10 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports +5.148s
11 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports +5.345s
12 Jarrod Waberski Elite Motorsport +5.968s
13 Hugo Schwarze Elite Motorsport +6.549s
14 Josh Irfan JHR Developments +6.901s
15 Flynn Jackes Chris Dittmann Racing +7.371s
16 Gerrard Xie Hitech GP +7.772s
17 Aditya Kulkarni Hillspeed +8.327s
18 Marcus Luzio Hillspeed +8.848s
Ret Noah Ping VRD by Arden
Ret McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport
Ret Nikita Johnson VRD by Arden
Ret Patrick Heuzenroeder JHR Developments
Fastest lap: Ping, 2m18.065s

Championship standings
Sharp 170   2 Kucharczyk 162   3 Ugochukwu 155   4 Macintyre 150   5 Bennett 148   6 Cresswell 116   7 Waberski 96   8 Xie 82   9 Rogeon 62   10 Shwarze 58