Home Formula 3Euroformula Juju Noda takes historic first Euroformula win at Paul Ricard

Juju Noda takes historic first Euroformula win at Paul Ricard

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Juju Noda and Noda Racing picked up their first Euroformula win at Paul Ricard after a clash eliminated the early leaders.

Motopak’s Noel Leon claimed pole, but was overtaken by BVM Racing’s Francesco Simonazzi on the way to turn one as third-placed qualifier Bryce Aron stalled on the grid and avoided being hit by those behind.

The debuting Vladislav Ryabov, driving for Motopark’s satellite team CryptoTower Racing Team, got into third place while Noda ran fourth ahead of Cian Shields and Jakob Bergmeister.

Leon tried reclaiming the lead at the inside of turn one on lap two but could not do it, while Shields moved past Noda and then Ryabov on lap three.

There was change at the front on lap four as Leon successfully went down the inside of Simonazzi at turn one, but a few corners later he then collided with his rival and both drivers had to retire.

Yellow flags did not come out immediately and Noda was quick to react as she passed everyone ahead of her to get into the lead before the safety car was called out.

Racing resumed on lap eight, with the duration of the race shortened from 15 to 13 laps. Bergmeister passed Ryabov for second around the outside of turn one on the restart, and Aron tried passing Ryabov later in the lap but the Russian got defensive. That proved ineffective, as it enabled Aron and Shields to get past.

Shields cleared Aron too, but there was then a big gap to make up to the top two who traded the fastest lap through the rest of the race. It ultimately went Noda’s way, and she won by 2.26 seconds.

Aron had another dice with Ryabov before chasing Shields, and passed him on the final lap to finish third.

“I’m speechless. I can’t believe it,” said Noda after taking victory, which marked the first time a woman has won in the history of Spanish Formula 3/Euroformula. “Really happy.”

“Tough weekend for me, and Motopark is very fast. So actually i didn’t prepare this interview because [i didn’t think I’d be beating them].”

Race results (13 laps)
1 Juju Noda Noda Racing 30m12.519s
2 Jakob Bergmeister Motopark +2.260s
3 Bryce Aron Motopark +3.888s
4 Cian Shields Motopark +4.713s
5 Vladislav Ryabov CryptoTower Racing Team +6.303s
6 Attila Penzes CryptoTower Racing Team +23.400s
Ret Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing
Pole: Leon, 1m56.341s
Fastest lap: Noda, 1m57.001s

Championship standings
1 Leon 175   2 Aron 147   3 Simonazzi 127   4 Shields 119   5 Josh Mason 96   6 Noda 91   7 Bergmeister 80   8 Tim Tramnitz 55   9 Enzo Trulli 50   10 Vladimir Netusil 21