Home Formula 2 Jon Lancaster secures sprint race win at Nurburgring

Jon Lancaster secures sprint race win at Nurburgring

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: Alastair Staley/GP2 Series Media Service

Jon Lancaster has taken another sprint race win in GP2, crossing the finish line in first just as he’s done a week ago at Silverstone.

With Tom Dillmann and Lancaster on reverse-grid front row, it was the Brit who got a better launch off the line to take the early lead. While Dillmann, struggling on used tyres, was holding up the field, the Hilmer driver managed to secure a two-second gap that allowed him to keep the lead until the checkered flag.

ART’s James Calado made a spectacular start from seventh to be third into turn one and, despite valiant defending from Dillmann, managed to get through after a couple of laps. He’s kept Lancaster under pressure for most of the race, but eventually settled for second, finishing a second off the Hilmer driver and picking up the points for the fastest lap.

For Dillmann and race one winner Marcus Ericsson, the race came apart in the second half, as their tyres gave out, making them easy prey for the other contenders. Fabio Leimer found his way around Dillmann early on and had a relatively lonely race after that, finishing in third.

Felipe Nasr took fourth, having overtaken both Ericsson and Sam Bird after the Swede started massively struggling for tyres. Bird was then involved in contact with Johnny Cecotto which saw the Briton run wide and lose three places.

The Venezuelan, who appeared largely blameless for the collision, finished in fifth place, with Alexander Rossi narrowly keeping Mitch Evans at bay for sixth. Bird recovered to eighth, picking up the final point.

The race was full of incidents, with Sergio Canamasas receiving a drive through for punting off Nathanael Berthon and Bird involved in two incidents – with Robin Frijns and Cecotto. Several incidents still remain under investigation.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 24 laps in 42:37.655
2 James Calado ART Grand Prix +1.528
3 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering +25.797
4 Felipe Nasr Carlin +27.527
5 Johnny Cecotto Arden International +32.336
6 Alexander Rossi Caterham Racing +34.479
7 Mitchell Evans Arden International +34.751
8 Sam Bird Russian Time +36.635
9 Simon Trummer Rapax +40.088
10 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus +40.237
11 Jolyon Palmer Carlin +41.402
12 Julian Leal Racing Engineering +42.434
13 Marcus Ericsson DAMS +43.482
14 Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax Team +43.806
15 Nathanael Berthon Trident Racing +43.979
16 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs MP Motorsport +53.763
17 Sergio Canamasas Caterham Racing +54.039
18 Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team +59.684
19 Daniel Abt ART Grand Prix +61.093
20 Stefano Coletti Rapax +69.152
21 Fabrizio Crestani Venezuela GP Lazarus +1 lap
Not classified
Tom Dillmann Russian Time +10 laps
Robin Frijns Hilmer Motorsport +14 laps
Daniel de Jong MP Motorsport +22 laps
Stephane Richelmi DAMS +23 laps