Home Featured Jenzer’s Williams fastest on snow-shortened second morning of F3 test

Jenzer’s Williams fastest on snow-shortened second morning of F3 test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Snowfall limited mileage on the second morning of FIA Formula 3 Championship pre-season testing at the Red Bull Ring, although a new track record was set again.

It wasn’t until nearly halfway through the three-hour session that the snow stopped and drivers set out on track for flying laps, which culminated in Jenzer Motorsport’s Calan Williams being the fastest man of the morning.

Alpine Formula 1 junior Victor Martins was the very first to lap at a representative pace, although as on the first day of testing was quick to have his laptimes deleted for track limits violations, and it was MP Motorsport team-mate and fellow Alpine junior Caio Collet who was at the top with 90 minutes remaining.

Collet’s fastest laps were later deleted though, and with just under an hour to go it was Hitech GP’s Red Bull junior Jak Crawford who was fastest with a 1m19.278s. Martins and Carlin’s Kaylen Frederick bettered him going into the final 45 minutes, and kept their laps this time, before Williams moved to the top prior to red flags being shown after MP’s Tijmen van der Helm stopped on track.

The session restarted with a few minutes remaining, and Charouz Racing System’s test-only entry Logan Sargeant shot to the top.

However the American, who came third in FIA F3 in 2020, was another who had used the run-off areas and once that lap was deleted he was down in seventh behind Williams, Formula 2 racer Matteo Nannini (HWA Racelab), Frederick, Martins, Crawford and fellow Charouz tester Mikhael Belov.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Calan Willians Jenzer Motorsport 1m18.836s 30
2 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m18.858s +0.022s 25
3 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m18.901s +0.065s 30
4 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m18.912s +0.076s 34
5 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m18.915s +0.079s 32
6 Mikhael Belov Charouz Racing System 1m18.943s +0.107s 31
7 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m18.981s +0.145s 31
8 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m19.015s +0.179s 37
9 David Schumacher Trident 1m19.086s +0.250s 24
10 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m19.099s +0.263s 32
11 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m19.189s +0.353s 33
12 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m19.244s +0.408s 17
13 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m19.277s +0.441s 23
14 Jack Doohan Trident 1m19.323s +0.487s 27
15 Clement Novalak Trident 1m19.383s +0.547s 22
16 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m19.405s +0.569s 30
17 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m19.510s +0.674s 33
18 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m19.591s +0.755s 20
19 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m19.599s +0.763s 32
20 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m19.616s +0.780s 32
21 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m19.625s +0.789s 43
22 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m19.639s +0.803s 37
23 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m19.670s +0.834s 37
24 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m19.717s +0.881s 31
25 Pierre-Louis Chovet Jenzer Motorsport 1m19.744s +0.908s 42
26 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m19.822s +0.986s 40
27 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m19.888s +1.052s 29
28 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m20.047s +1.211s 30
29 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m20.142s +1.306s 21
30 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m20.329s +1.493s 31