Home News Jacob Douglas takes his first USF2000 pole in a Pabst Racing 1-2-3

Jacob Douglas takes his first USF2000 pole in a Pabst Racing 1-2-3

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Pabst Racing’s Jacob Douglas topped qualifying for the final round of the USF2000 season at Portland.

Douglas was fastest on the first laps with a 1m15.1213s, and Max Garcia kept the team on top on the second pass with a 1m13.4719s.

Douglas returned to the front when the third laps were set, as he became the first driver into the 1m12s. DEForce Racing’s Mac Clark shuffled Garcia down to third, and Velocity Racing Development’s Nikita Johnson went fourth fastest. Johnson is doubling up in USF Pro 2000 this weekend, so came into the session after doing USFP2000 practice and then had qualifying in the higher series to do after USF2000 qualifying finished.

Points leader Simon Sikes became the third Pabst driver to hit the front when he set a 1m12.9038s on his fifth lap, putting him just 0.0221s ahead of Douglas and 0.0486s clear of Clark.

Next time by he improved to 1m12.7229s, and Garcia went second fastest with a 1m12.8250s, then there was a period of quiet as drivers changed tyres but also failed to improve on their best efforts.

In the final six minutes there were improvements from each of the top three, with Sikes lowering the pace to 1m12.5800s as USF2000 returnee Thomas Schrage went sixth fastest for Exclusive Autosport.

Douglas moved into provisional pole position with a 1m12.2536s on his next lap, as Jay Howard Driver Development’s Evagoras Papasavvas improved in fourth and Schrage climbed another spot, then the lap after Schrage improved again to move into fourth place.

Garcia set personal bests two times in a row and edged ahead of team-mate Sikes, who also improved but was 0.0182s off reclaiming second place.

Douglas meanwhile was untroubled at the top, failing to improve on any of his last four laps but still taking pole by 0.2891s.

Clark ended up qualifying sixth, just ahead of Johnson and his team-mate Sam Corry.

As the chequered flag waved, there was an off for DEForce’s Maxwell Jamieson at turn 12 but he still set his personal best on his last timed lap. Albeit that was only good enough for 14th.

Lucas Fecury qualified one place ahead, for what will be his series debut, and JHDD’s USF2000 newcomer Ava Dobson was 4.134s off the pace in 18th.

Having missed pre-event testing and practice, Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing’s Elliot Cox also was absent from qualifying.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jacob Douglas Pabst Racing 1m12.2536s 15
2 Max Garcia Pabst Racing 1m12.5427s +0.2891s 15
3 Simon Sikes Pabst Racing 1m12.5609s +0.3073s 15
4 Thomas Schrage Exclusive Autosport 1m12.8502s +0.5966s 14
5 Evagoras Papasavvas JHDD 1m12.8796s +0.6260s 13
6 Mac Clark DEForce Racing 1m12.9524s +0.6988s 14
7 Nikita Johnson Velocity Racing Development 1m12.9989s +0.7453s 13
8 Sam Corry Velocity Racing Development 1m13.0080s +0.7544s 13
9 Lochie Hughes JHDD 1m13.0634s +0.8098s 13
10 Ethan Ho DC Autosport 1m13.0662s +0.8126s 13
11 Jorge Garciarce DEForce Racing 1m13.0914s +0.8378s 14
12 Max Taylor Velocity Racing Development 1m13.2816s +1.0280s 13
13 Lucas Fecury DEForce Racing 1m13.6091s +1.3555s 13
14 Maxwell Jamieson DEForce Racing 1m13.7276s +1.4740s 12
15 Al Morey JHDD 1m14.0410s +1.7874s 12
16 Gordon Scully Velocity Racing Development 1m14.2414s +1.9878s 12
17 Carson Etter DC Autosport 1m14.2889s +2.0353s 15
18 Ava Dobson JHDD 1m16.3970s +4.1434s 15