Home Featured Jack William Miller gets pole for the Freedom 90

Jack William Miller gets pole for the Freedom 90

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Miller Vinatieri Motorsports’ Jack William Miller will start from pole for USF Pro 2000’s Freedom 90 race at the Indianapolis Raceway Park oval.

Nicholas Monteiro was fastest of the first three drivers in qualifying, who went out on by one in reverse championship order, then Jordan Missig caused a delay in the session as he set the first sub-21s lap of qualifying and then spun into the barriers on his second.

When qualifying resumed it was Yuven Sundaramoorthy who was first to hit the track, followed by Jacksn Lee who comfortably claimed provisional pole despite being off the pace that Missig was setting before crashing.

Ricardo Escotto went second fastest, then Michael d’Orlando – a two-time winner of USF2000’s supporting Freedom 75 race – lowered the benchmark by setting a 21.119s and then a 21.210s.

Christian Weir got close, then Miller not only set an astonishing 20.758s for his first lap but followed it up with a 20.968s to fly ahead of everyone else.

Salvador de Alba did an impresive job to go just 0.169 seconds slower over the two laps to slot into second, then there was another interruption to the session as Reece Ushijima came to a stop on track with a car issue.

When the action got going again, only the top five in the championship were left to run.

Jace Denmark went third fastest, but was shuffled down to fourth as Joel Granfors set a 20.910s and then a 20.840s to get within 0.033s of pole.

Francesco Pizzi was next and a strong second lap put him fourth, while Kiko Porto was off the pace and qualified 11th as points leader Myles Rowe – the last driver on track – made it into fifth place.

Miller, currently 10th in the standings, therefore claimed the third pole of his USFP2000 career.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Speed
1 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 118.372mph
2 Joel Granfors Exclusive Autosport 118.279mph
3 Salvador de Alba Exclusive Autosport 117.895mph
4 Francesco Pizzi TJ Speed 117.706mph
5 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing 117.516mph
6 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 117.232mph
7 Michael d’Orlando Turn 3 Motorsport 116.686mph
8 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport 116.521mph
9 Christian Weir TJ Speed 116.427mph
10 Jackson Lee Turn 3 Motorsport 116.104mph
11 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 115.976mph
12 Ricardo Escotto JHDD 115.640mph
13 Nicholas Monteiro NeoTech Motorsport 115.594mph
14 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing 115.569mph
15 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Exclusive Autosport 115.291mph
16 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport 113.825mph