Home Formula RegionalFRegional Middle East Indian teams fill the top places in Kuwait in testing for FRME round two

Indian teams fill the top places in Kuwait in testing for FRME round two

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRMEC

The Indian teams led the way on the second day of pre-event testing at Kuwait Motor Town for the Formula Regional Middle East championship.

The first of two sessions on Thursday was shortened by a lengthy red flag period,and the majority of the action came in the first 10 minutes.

Mumbai Falcons’ Lorenzo Fluxa was first to the top after four minutes, then Prema’s Michael Shin went 0.855 seconds faster two minutes later. He was eclipsed to the tune of 4.134s by R&B Racing’s Giovanni Maschio moments after, then Fluxa returned to the top with a 1m50.889s lap.

His team-mate Dino Beganovic bettered that by 0.059s, and Andrea Kimi Antonelli in the third of the team’s cars went 0.619s faster.

He was on top for less than two minutes before Beganovic became the first driver to lap sub-1m50s, and Hyderabad Blackbirds powered by MP driver Sami Meguetounif maximised the slipstream behind him to immediately knock 0.780s off the benchmark time.

Meguetounif’s team-mate Joshua Duerksen bettered him by 1.113s, a gap that had closed to 0.233s before the pair headed to the pits.

R-ace GP’s Nikhil Bohra managed to match Meguetounif’s laptime to a thousandth of a second, anf Fluxa went fourth fastest before the session-ending red flags came out.

Duerksen and Meguetounif were shuffled down to sixth and 10th overall on the combined timesheet following session two as they failed to improve, while their team-mate Mari Boya set the pace.

Hitech GP’s Luke Browning, and Pinnacle VAR’s Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak and Pepe Marti disputed first place early on, before Mumbai Falcons’ Rafael Camara dropped the pace.

He was bettered by team-mate Antonelli with 23 minutes to go, and the next pacesetter was Fluxa who went fastest by 0.003s. Browning went 0.029s faster than that to reclaim first place with 10 minutes remaining, but moments later Antonelli took a big chunk out of everyone else.

Beganovic managed to close the gap to 0.084s, and then Boya jumped from 14th from first with minutes to spare and before the session was then ended by red flags.

Joining the morning top two as non-improvers in session two were Bohra, Matias Zagazeta and Zhongwei Wang.

Test day two results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Mari Boya Hyderabad Blackbirds 1m47.584s 21
2 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Mumbai Falcons 1m47.767s +0.183s 38
3 Dino Beganovic Mumbai Falcons 1m47.851s +0.267s 42
4 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m48.018s +0.434s 40
5 Lorenzo Fluxa Mumbai Falcons 1m48.035s +0.451s 42
6 Joshua Duerksen Hyderabad Blackbirds 1m48.084s +0.500s 32
7 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 1m48.177s +0.593s 37
8 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m48.185s +0.601s 30
9 Rafael Camara Mumbai Falcons 1m48.242s +0.658s 37
10 Sami Meguetounif Hyderabad Blackbirds 1m48.317s +0.733s 29
11 Nikhil Bohra R-ace GP 1m48.317s +0.733s 38
12 Pepe Marti Pinnacle VAR 1m48.331s +0.747s 29
13 Brad Benavides Hyderabad Blackbirds 1m48.377s +0.793s 16
14 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP 1m48.443s +0.859s 39
15 Aiden Neate Prema 1m48.452s +0.868s 39
16 Francesco Braschi R-ace GP 1m48.528s +0.944s 38
17 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP 1m48.697s +1.113s 35
18 Rafael Villagomez Pinnacle VAR 1m48.805s +1.221s 33
19 Joshua Dufek PHM Racing 1m48.939s +1.355s 37
20 Michael Shin Prema 1m48.975s +1.391s 33
21 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak Pinnacle VAR 1m49.252s +1.668s 37
22 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 1m49.283s +1.699s 30
23 Levente Revesz R-ace GP 1m49.448s +1.864s 36
24 Giovanni Maschio R&B Racing 1m49.726s +2.142s 38
25 Niels Koolen Pinnacle VAR 1m50.094s +2.510s 33
26 Daniel Mavlyutov Hitech GP 1m50.118s +2.534s 36
27 Cenyu Han R&B Racing 1m50.413s +2.829s 42
28 Zhongwei Wang R&B Racing 1m51.830s +4.246s 41