Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Ikhwan secures win at Zhuhai opener

Ikhwan secures win at Zhuhai opener

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Asian single-seater veteran Afiq Ikhwan took the win at the season opener at Zhuhai from sixth in the grid in a race that saw a significant number of drivers not make it to the finish.

Japanese driver Ren Nagabuchi finished second ahead of polesitter Raj Bharath, with the Eurasia duo of Matthew Solomon and Pu Jun Jin in fourth and fifth respectively.

Ronald Wu and Bao Jin Long rounded out the finishers, as the rest of the 13-car field failed to make the checkered flag.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Afiq Ikhwan Meritus GP 22:05.681
2 Ren Nagabuchi Super License +0.951
3 Raj Bharath Meco Motorsport +1.698
4 Matthew Solomon Eurasia Motorsport +2.036
5 Pu Jun Jin Eurasia Motorsport +3.441
6 Ronald Wu KCMG +6.717
7 Bao Jin Long Star Racing Team +7.406
Not classified
Aidan Wright Meritus GP
Akash Nandy KCMG
Yuan Bo Star Racing Team
Zou Sirui Star Racing Team
Zou Chen Yu Star Racing Team
Yin Hai Tao Super License