Home Formula 3GB3 Hedley tops Snetterton GB3 test, Queen quickest in GB4

Hedley tops Snetterton GB3 test, Queen quickest in GB4

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

James Hedley was fastest by over 0.7 seconds as GB3’s pre-season testing continued at Snetterton this week.

Still to officially confirm his return to GB3 for a sophomore season, Hedley recorded a best lap of 1m42.893s for Arden VRD in Wednesday’s final session to leave himself clear of Max Esterson and McKenzy Cresswell. 

Only 11 drivers tested on the first day on Tuesday, with some teams absent as they travelled back from a separate test at Spa-Francorchamps.

All four sessions were held in wet conditions, with times improving throughout. Rodin Carlin’s Callum Voisin led session one with a 2m10.783s lap, 0.038 seconds ahead of Hitech GP’s Alex Dunne, who lowered the benchmark to a 2m01.963s in session two, with Voisin 0.019s behind.

John Bennett was one of three drivers to improve in session three, his 2m02.966s lap good enough to finish quickest ahead of Carlin team-mates Voisin and Costa Toparis.

Voisin set the fastest time of the day with two minutes remaining of session four, his effort of 2m01.925s eclipsing Dunne’s session two best, while Bennett improved just before the chequered flag fell to finish within 0.085s of the pace in third.

Times drastically improved on Wednesday, with nine more drivers joining the action. Among those was JHR Developments’ Matthew Rees, who was quickest in the opening session with a 1m45.938s, edging Arden’s Nico Christodoulou by 0.039s.

The pace picked up further in session two, with Elite Motorsport’s Cresswell leading the way before a series of quicker laps put Rees on top once again, his best lap of 1m43.687s leaving him over 0.3s clear of Hedley. Lap times were significantly slower in session three, which was topped by Christodoulou with a 1m50.654s.

Conditions improved for the final session, with Cresswell setting the best time so far, a 1m43.621s, while Hedley moved to within 0.015s. Hedley then posted his test-topping time of 1m42.893s, while Esterson improved late on to move up to second for Fortec Motorsports.

Rees was the only driver on track to not improve on his best lap, and ended the test fourth behind team-mate David Morales and ahead of Hitech’s Souta Arao, the trio separated by 0.006s.

Fox Motorsport were the only GB4 team to run on Tuesday, with Sid Smith leading team-mate Liam McNeilly, the pair utilising a drier track in session one to end the day with quicker times than the GB3 field.

Several more drivers took part on Wednesday, with Evans GP’s Cooper Webster topping session one by over a second with a 2m02.339s. Session two saw the fastest GB4 times so far, with Fortec’s Colin Queen recording a 1m51.934s to edge McNeilly to top spot by 0.051s.

Queen led again in the final two sessions and ended the test on top after his session two benchmark was not beaten, while Webster ended up just over 0.2s behind in third. Karting graduate Aditya Kulkarni tested for Fortec on Wednesday, while Fox ran a third car for Ginetta Junior racer Harry Moss, who ran without a transponder.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 James Hedley Arden 1m42.893s 118
2 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports 1m43.603s +0.710s 63
3 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport 1m43.621s +0.728s 43
4 David Morales JHR Developments 1m43.682s +0.789s 51
5 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 1m43.687s +0.794s 41
6 Souta Arao Hitech GP 1m43.688s +0.795s 94
7 Alex Dunne Hitech GP 1m43.753s +0.860s 125
8 John Bennett Carlin 1m43.776s +0.883s 117
9 Callum Voisin Carlin 1m43.806s +0.913s 109
10 Nico Christodoulou Arden 1m44.042s +1.149s 120
11 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports 1m44.055s +1.162s 48
12 Costa Toparis Carlin 1m44.128s +1.235s 115
13 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport 1m44.543s +1.650s 58
14 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed 1m44.777s +1.884s 106
15 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 1m44.878s +1.985s 31
16 Michael Shin Hitech GP 1m44.920s +2.027s 114
17 Ayato Iwasaki Elite Motorsport 1m45.592s +2.699s 69
18 Noah Ping Arden 1m45.636s +2.743s 87
19 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed 1m46.028s +3.135s 132
20 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports 1m46.097s +3.204s 13
1 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports 1m51.934s 69
2 Liam McNeilly Fox Motorsport 1m51.985s +0.051s 127
3 Cooper Webster Evans GP 1m52.152s +0.218s 72
4 Sid Smith Fox Motorsport 1m53.090s +1.156s 129
5 Jeremy Fairbairn KMR Sport 1m53.772s +1.838s 66
6 Jack Clifford KMR Sport 1m54.404s +2.470s 71
7 Aditya Kulkarni Fortec Motorsports 1m56.065 +4.131s 55