Home Featured Hauger hits the top at the very end of F2’s final post-season test session

Hauger hits the top at the very end of F2’s final post-season test session

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

MP Motorsport’s Dennis Hauger left it late to the top the times in the final session of Formula 2 post-season testing at Yas Marina Circuit.

Rather unusually, Hauger’s transponder was not registering laptimes until late on in the three-hour afternoon session. He had done 30 laps before a laptime appeared next to his name on the timing screens, and it was on his penultimate plap with three-and-a-half minutes to go that he went fastest with a 1m35.996s.

That put him just 0.006 seconds up on Rodin Carlin’s Zane Maloney, who had been in first place for 134 minutes.

Trident’s Christian Mansell, on his first day in a F2 car, was the first driver to top the times, setting a 1m57.987s four minutes into the session. Red flags waved shortly after due to Prema’s Ollie Bearman stopping at turn five, and once the session restarted Mansell improved to 1m55.468s. Bearman later got a warning for crossing the pit exit line, and all drivers got advanced warnings about erratic driving in the pitlane.

Hitech GP’s Amaury Cordeel usurped Mansell after 16 minutes, setting a 1m51.444s, but that laptime was blown out of the water eight seconds later as Prema’s Andrea Kimi Antonelli lowered the pace by over 10s to 1m41.048s.

But he too had a brief time at the top, as 13s later Mansell set a 1m38.886s. He improved to 1m37.602s after 34 minutes, then Maloney set started his lengthy spell as the benchmark driver by setting a 1m37.261s lap 42 minutes into the session.

Three laps later he lowered the pace to 1m37.044s, then left it an hour before another improvement to 1m36.914s. After a cooldown lap, he went on another flyer and improved by 0.541s.

That proved unbeatable until another hour later when Maloney, with 10 minutes to go, set a 1m36.002s.

30 laptimes by 14 drivers deleted for track limits abuse, and of the six drivers who were on track at the very end of testing only Virtuosi Racing’s 10th-placed Gabriel Bortoleto was able to improve as he met the chequered flag on his final lap.

Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m35.996s 40
2 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m36.002s +0.006s 37
3 Joshua Duerksen PHM Racing 1m36.872s +0.876s 50
4 Ritomo Miyata Carlin 1m37.263s +1.267s 30
5 Amaury Cordeel Hitech GP 1m37.271s +1.275s 47
6 Christian Mansell Trident 1m37.602s +1.606s 48
7 Paul Aron Hitech GP 1m37.703s +1.707s 47
8 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS 1m38.002s +2.006s 50
9 Jak Crawford DAMS 1m38.320s +2.324s 50
10 Gabriel Bortoleto Virtuosi Racing 1m38.329s +2.333s 80
11 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m38.415s +2.419s 68
12 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m38.544s +2.548s 72
13 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m38.576s +2.580s 65
14 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m38.596s +2.600s 45
15 Zak O’Sullivan ART Grand Prix 1m38.760s +2.764s 68
16 Oliver Goethe Trident 1m38.787s +2.791s 40
17 Isack Hadjar Campos Racing 1m38.791s +2.795s 68
18 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m38.990s +2.994s 65
19 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m39.178s +3.182s 67
20 Kush Maini Virtuosi Racing 1m39.799s +3.803s 48
21 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.817s +3.821s 53
22 Joshua Mason PHM Racing 1m40.218s +4.222s 39