Home Featured Hauger fastest on first morning of F2 testing at Barcelona

Hauger fastest on first morning of F2 testing at Barcelona

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

MP Motorsport’s Dennis Hauger was fastest in the first session of Formula 2’s in-season test at Barcelona.

An extremely green track surface and cool temperatures meant there was little running in the opening hour, and in the two hours after that the track rarely got busy.

Having completed their installation laps, Prema duo Ollie Bearman and Andrea Kimi Antonelli headed out for a run where they maintained an unrepresentative speed throughout. Hitech GP and Campos Racing meanwhile went out to test different items on their cars rather than lapping at pace.

Hauger was first to set a flying lap one hour in, and his 1m25.830s put him 0.382 seconds ahead of team-mate Franco Colapinto.

Virtuosi Racing’s Kush Maini was next to top the times, bettering Hauger by just 0.032s. More drivers got into the 1m26s as the session progressed, but nobody was focusing on performance runs.

Hauger regained first place in the last hour, lowering the pace to 1m25.372s. Maini improved, but came 0.114s short of matching the new benchmark. Trident’s Richard Verschoor was the only other driver to lap sub-1m26s, and was 0.33s behind in third.

Drivers completed a good amount of mileage despite the conditions, with both Antonelli and Bearman reaching the 50-lap mark. The usefulness of that running was compounded by the fact they were both over 12s off the pace with their fastest laps. PHM Racing and Hitech’s drivers also failed to record any flying laps, with Amaury Cordeel having no laptme at all next to his name despite completing 26 laps.

Rodin Motorsport’s Ritomo Miyata brought out session-ending red flags just under two minutes before the session’s scheduled finish as he spun off.

Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m25.372s 41
2 Kush Maini Virtuosi Racing 1m25.486s +0.114s 28
3 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m25.702s +0.330s 22
4 Roman Stanek Trident 1m26.025s +0.653s 26
5 Gabriel Bortoleto Virtuosi Racing 1m26.046s +0.674s 32
6 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m26.064s +0.692s 29
7 Zane Maloney Rodin Motorsport 1m26.210s +0.838s 29
8 Jak Crawford DAMS 1m26.215s +0.843s 33
9 Isack Hadjar Campos Racing 1m26.271s +0.899s 22
10 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.291s +0.919s 29
11 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m26.478s +1.106s 39
12 Ritomo Miyata Rodin Motorsport 1m26.487s +1.115s 28
13 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.582s +1.210s 30
14 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS 1m26.761s +1.389s 25
15 Zak O’Sullivan ART Grand Prix 1m27.061s +1.689s 37
16 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m27.188s +1.816s 22
17 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m37.825s +12.453s 50
18 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m41.948s +16.576s 52
19 Paul Aron Hitech GP 1m43.312s +17.940s 40
20 Joshua Duerksen PHM Racing 1m49.661s +24.289s 28
21 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m55.215s +29.843s 26
22 Amaury Cordeel Hitech GP no time 26