Home Formula 4French F4 Giusti dominates French F4 qualifying in Valencia

Giusti dominates French F4 qualifying in Valencia

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: KSP Reportages

Alessandro Giusti claimed a dominant double pole-position for the Valencia round of the French Formula 4 championship, clearing the opposition by over seven tenths of a second.

After completing two preparation laps, Giusti’s first competitive laptime of 1m35.206s was already almost one second faster than his practice benchmark. He lowered his time in the following lap to a 1m34.787 and would improve yet another three tenths in the next one.

Dario Cabanelas was Giusti’s nearest competitor sitting almost one second off the provisional pole time.

Halfway through qualifying, Souta Arao bettered Cabanelas’ best time to go second fastest, but it wouldn’t last long as Hugh Barter soon lowered the mark set by the Japanese driver.

Giusti improved again with under 10 minutes remaining on the clock after several laps in which he set the fastest first sector. This effort, 0.736 seconds faster than Barter’s best lap, was good enough to take pole for race one. His previous effort, just a few thousands of a second slower than his best, awarded him race three pole as well.

The top four drivers entered the pit-lane with over five minutes to go as very few were improving, whereas fifth classified Romain Andriolo stayed on track for a few more minutes .

Enzo Richer was among those to better his laptime in the coming stages of qualifying. He moved up to ninth place after sitting outside the top 10 for most of the session.

Barter and Arao will also start race three from second and third respectively as only Cabanelas’ fastest lap beat Arao’s second best effort.

Leny Reveillere couldn’t take part in qualifying due to mechanical issues. He returned to the pits after the outlap, where the mechanics took the engine cover off and investigated the problem. However, they couldn’t find a solution on time to allow Reveillere back on track.

Qualifying result
Pos Driver Time Gap Laps
1 Alessando Giusti 1m34.423s 11
2 Hugh Barter 1m35.159s +0.736s 10
3 Souta Arao 1m35.362s +0.939s 11
4 Dario Cabanelas 1m35.411s +0.988s 13
5 Romain Andriolo 1m35.424s +1.001s 14
6 Elliott Vayron 1m35.505s +1.082s 15
7 Jeronimo Berrio 1m35.534s +1.111s 15
8 Yuto Nomura 1m35.553s +1.130s 14
9 Enzo Richer 1m35.660s +1.237s 14
10 Enzo Peugeot 1m35.669s +1.246s 14
11 Pablo Sarrazin 1m35.669s +1.246s 15
12 Pierre-Alexandre Provost 1m35.857s +1.434s 15
13 Lorens Lecertua 1m35.936s +1.513s 15
14 Edgar Pierre 1m35.959s +1.536s 10
15 Louis Pelet 1m35.972s +1.549s 15
16 Enzo Geraci 1m35.996s +1.573s 14
17 Mateo Villagomez 1m36.056s +1.633s 13
18 Valentino Mini 1m36.328s +1.905s 14
19 Pol Lopez 1m36.508s +2.085s 14
20 Max Reis 1m36.626s +2.203s 15
21 Antoine Fernande 1m37.559s +3.136s 11
22 Leny Reveillere No time 1