Home Featured Gabriele Mini tops first morning of F3 in-season testing in Barcelona

Gabriele Mini tops first morning of F3 in-season testing in Barcelona

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Prema

Prema’s Gabriele Mini topped an incident-free opening session of FIA Formula 3 in-season testing at Barcelona.

The start of the session was delayed one hour due to a power supply issue in the pit building. Therefore, running times were revised with the morning session extended to 1 pm, shortening the lunch break.

Little running took place during the three hours despite there being no interruptions, due to a dirty track and the usual allocation of eight sets of the hard compound for the whole test. PHM Racing’s Nikita Bedrin and Joshua Dufek clocked the most laps, a total of 28.

The whole field immediately headed out for installation laps as the track went green, checking everything was in place after engines were reconditioned ahead of the test.

MP Motorsport’s trio inaugurated the actual running with qualifying runs one hour into the session. Tim Tramnitz was the fastest of the three with a laptime of 1m29.587s. PHM’s drivers were next out on track and Bedrin went fastest, bettering Tramnitz’s early benchmark by 0.225 seconds.

The track got busier as the last hour of running approached and several drivers rose to the top spot of the times. Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli was fastest with a laptime of 1m28.831s once all had completed a run. However, he didn’t hold on to it for long as MP Motorsport went out again and Alex Dunne lowered the benchmark by three tenths of a second.

Mini would go fastest minutes later, with few drivers improving their laptimes afterwards as the focus switched away from performance runs.

Morning session
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m28.313s 14
2 Sami Meguetounif Trident 1m28.399s +0.086s 12
3 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m28.485s +0.172s 16
4 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport 1m28.577s +0.264s 21
5 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m28.679s +0.366s 13
6 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m28.693s +0.380s 14
7 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport 1m28.753s +0.440s 21
8 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 1m28.755s +0.442s 28
9 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m28.801s +0.488s 17
10 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m28.813s +0.500s 15
11 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m28.814s +0.501s 16
12 Matias Zagazeta PHM Racing 1m28.855s +0.542s 16
13 Mari Boya Campos Racing 1m28.900s +0.587s 14
14 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix 1m29.004s +0.691s 16
15 Santiago Ramos Trident 1m29.061s +0.748s 13
16 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m29.117s +0.804s 16
17 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m29.142s +0.829s 16
18 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m29.202s +0.889s 18
19 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport 1m29.337s +1.024s 21
20 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m29.387s +1.074s 15
21 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP 1m29.471s +1.158s 16
22 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.508s +1.195s 23
23 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport 1m29.715s +1.402s 17
24 Joshua Dufek PHM Racing 1m29.875s +1.562s 28
25 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak PHM Racing 1m29.999s +1.686s 26
26 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport 1m30.255s +1.942s 18
27 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m30.259s +1.946s 20
28 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m30.483s +2.170s 17
29 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m30.699s +2.386s 23
30 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport 1m30.918s +2.605s 18