Home Formula 3GB3 Elite’s McKenzy Cresswell tops three-day Silverstone GB3 test

Elite’s McKenzy Cresswell tops three-day Silverstone GB3 test

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell was fastest in the first major GB3 test of 2023, lapping one second faster than last year’s pole time on Silverstone’s Grand Prix layout.

Cresswell, who has switched from Chris Dittmann Racing for his sophomore season in GB3, recorded a 1m52.070s lap on the final day to end the test 0.181s clear of JHR Developments’ Matthew Rees.

Fortec Motorsports dominated the top of the timesheets on Wednesday, with rain persisting throughout. Max Esterson set a best lap of 2m10.967s in session three to end the day quickest ahead of team-mates Jarrod Waberski, who was fastest in the first two sessions, and Edward Pearson.

CDR’s single-seater rookie Arthur Rogeon led the way in the fourth and slowest session of the day. Hillspeed, JHR and Douglas were also on track, with several drivers running without active transponders.

Hitech GP joined the fray on a dry and sunny second day, and immediately set the pace. Reigning British F4 champion Alex Dunne led the first two sessions, recording a best lap of 1m54.567s to leave him clear of Waberski and Esterson. The trio were separated by 0.036s in session three, with Esterson setting the best time of testing so far at 1m54.301s.

Dunne was the first driver of the week to dip under last year’s Silverstone GB3 pole time in session four. Douglas driver Tymek Kucharczyk then went faster still with a 1m52.910s before Waberski eclipsed him by just 0.004s to end the day on top.

Fortec, Douglas and CDR did not take part on Friday, while Elite made its first appearance of the week, with Ayato Iwasaki and Oliver Stewart testing for the team alongside Cresswell.

Dunne and Cresswell led the two morning sessions before times tumbled dramatically in the afternoon. Cresswell posted a new benchmark of 1m52.769s in session three before Rees found a further half a second. But Cresswell responded moments later with what proved the best lap of the week.

Rees topped the final session with a lap fractionally slower than his earlier best ahead of Red Bull junior Souta Arao, who recorded his personal best to finish third overall. David Morales also set his best lap in the final session to end up fourth, the American having tested for JHR across all three days alongside the team’s two confirmed drivers Rees and Joseph Loake.

Hitech’s Michael Shin ended the test in 10th, while Arden’s Noah Ping drove for the first time on Friday. James Hedley was one of two additional drivers to test on Thursday for CDR, who has only confirmed Rogeon in its line-up so far.

Several GB4 drivers also tested, with Fortec’s Colin Queen quickest across the first two days ahead of Kevin Mills Racing’s Jack Clifford and Jeremy Fairbairn. Fox Motorsport was the only GB4 team in action on Friday, with Liam McNeilly eclipsing Queen’s benchmark. Virtuosi Racing and Hitech also ran its British F4 cars at the test.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps*
1 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport 1m52.072s 52
2 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 1m52.253s +0.181s 53
3 Souta Arao Hitech GP 1m52.288s +0.216s 135
4 David Morales JHR Developments 1m52.452s +0.380s 43
5 Alex Dunne Hitech GP 1m52.503s +0.431s 130
6 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport 1m52.611s +0.539s 63
7 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 1m52.718s +0.646s 47
8 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports 1m52.915s +0.843s 112
9 Tymoteusz Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport 1m52.919s +0.847s 19
10 Michael Shin Hitech GP 1m53.031s +0.959s 125
11 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports 1m53.273s +1.201s 120
12 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed 1m53.508s +1.436s 132
13 Lucas Staico Douglas Motorsport 1m53.564s +1.492s 16
14 James Hedley CDR 1m53.614s +1.542s 28
15 Noah Ping Arden 1m53.662s +1.590s 47
16 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports 1m53.673s +1.601s 106
17 Ayato Iwasaki Elite Motorsport 1m53.820s +1.748s 68
18 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed 1m54.135s +2.063s 146
19 Arthur Rogeon CDR 1m54.267s +2.195s 121
20 Shawn Rashid Douglas Motorsport 1m54.411s +2.339s 18
21 #99 Singaporean Hillspeed 2m20.283s +18.211s 47
1 Liam McNeilly Fox Motorsport 2m00.999s 67
2 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports 2m01.451s +0.452s 121
3 Sid Smith Fox Motorsport 2m02.106s +1.107s 59
4 Jack Clifford Kevin Mills Racing 2m03.250s +2.251s 108
5 Jeremy Fairbairn Kevin Mills Racing 2m03.254s +2.255s 119
6 Rob Smith Fox Motorsport 2m05.840s +4.841s 36

*Laps completed with transponder