Home Formula 3GB3 Dunne does the double with another GB3 win at Spa

Dunne does the double with another GB3 win at Spa

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Hitech GP’s Alex Dunne took his second GB3 victory of the day after another battle with Callum Voisin in race two at Spa-Francorchamps, while Voisin grabbed the points lead.

Voisin again lined up from pole ahead of Dunne, but it was Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell who snatched the lead after making a better start from third.

After also losing out to Dunne into La Source, Voisin reclaimed second with a better exit. He then slipstreamed his way past Cresswell into the lead on the Kemmel Straight, with Dunne following him through into second.

The front three quickly built a gap to the rest, with Dunne repeating his move on Voisin at Les Combes from the first race of the day to take the lead on lap four.

Dunne had a scare when he dipped a wheel on the grass, but he remained ahead and then edged clear to win by 1.995 seconds and close to within 20 points of Voisin, with Cresswell making amends for his race one spin by coming home a further second behind in third.

Fortec Motorsports’ Max Esterson made up one place to fifth at the start before passing JHR Development’s Matthew Rees for fourth. But the American then slowed on the exit of La Source on lap three and soon retired.

Arden VRD’s Nico Christodoulou recovered from a bad start to battle Rees and Douglas Motorsport driver Tymek Kucharczyk for fourth, but then ran wide after contact with Kucharczyk at La Source and lost ground.

Kucharczyk swept past Rees before the completion of the third lap, with Hillspeed’s Gerrard Xie soon demoting Rees to fifth.

Xie then slipstreamed past Kucharczyk for fourth on the Kemmel Straight on lap five, and pulled over two seconds clear of the Polish driver in the remaining laps.

Arden’s James Hedley rose from 14th to finish a second behind Kucharczyk in sixth, while Rees slipped back to seventh by the chequered flag.

Fortec’s Edward Pearson prevailed in an early battle with Carlin’s John Bennett to finish eighth ahead of Christodoulou. It was another difficult race for JHR’s Joseph Loake, who lost the points lead to Voisin after making a couple of early mistakes before finishing 10th. Bennett eventually came home 12th behind Fortec’s Jarrod Waberski.

Race result (9 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Alex Dunne Hitech GP 20m36.602s
2 Callum Voisin Carlin +1.995s
3 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport +3.027s
4 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed +7.640s
5 Tymek Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport +10.020s
6 James Hedley Arden VRD +11.019s
7 Matthew Rees JHR Devlopments +13.862s
8 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports +15.197s
9 Nico Christodoulou Arden VRD +16.305s
10 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +16.819s
11 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports +18.208s
12 John Bennett Carlin +18.502s
13 Costa Toparis Carlin +19.049s
14 David Morales JHR Developments +19.612s
15 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport +22.640s
16 Lucas Staico Douglas Motorsport +23.872s
17 Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing +28.324s
18 Ayato Iwasaki Elite Motorsport +29.857s
19 Shawn Rashid Douglas Motorsport +32.040s
20 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing +37.660s
21 Noah Ping Arden VRD +43.756s
22 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed +1m22.055s
Ret Souta Arao Hitech GP
Ret Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports
Ret Michael Shin Hitech GP
Fastest lap: Dunne, 2m16.669s

Championship standings
Voisin 173   2 Loake 165   3 Dunne 153   4 Kucharczyk 127   5 Hedley 120   6 Rees 106   7 Cresswell 105   8 Bennett 99   9 Waberski 84   10 Toparis 83