Home Formula 3GB3 Dunne delivers maiden GB3 win in race one at Spa

Dunne delivers maiden GB3 win in race one at Spa

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Hitech GP’s Alex Dunne took victory in the opening GB3 race of the weekend at Spa-Francorchamps after a battle with Callum Voisin.

Rodin Carlin’s Voisin led away from pole at the start as Dunne fought off Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell for second into La Source. Dunne then moved to the outside of Voisin on the Kemmel Straight but backed out into Les Combes. 

Cresswell, who had held off Douglas Motorsport’s Tymek Kucharczyk behind, tried to capitalise on the inside of Dunne but ended up spinning, with chaos ensuing towards the rear of the field.

Douglas driver Lucas Staico also spun, while Noah Ping, Arthur Rogeon and Daniel Mavlyutov collided and retired, with the safety car deployed at the end of the lap.

Racing resumed at the start of lap four of eight, with Voisin resisting a challenge from Dunne on the approach to Les Combes and did the same again on the next lap.

But a better run exiting Radillion on lap six allowed Dunne to edge ahead, and he completed the move on the outside at Les Combes.

Dunne edged clear over the final two laps to win by 1.174 seconds from Voisin, while Kurcharzyk came home a further 0.7s behind to score his first podium.

JHR Development’s David Morales was fifth ahead of Arden VRD’s Nico Christodoulou, while Hillspeed’s Gerrard Xie gained three places on the opening lap to take sixth.

Hitech’s Shin also gained three spots to seventh, while Carlin’s John Bennett climbed from 12th to pass Fortec Motorsports’ Max Esterson and finish eighth.

Jarrod Waberski recovered from 17th to finish 10th behind his team-mate Esterson, while Cresswell ended up 11th ahead of Arden’s James Hedley. Joseph Loake came home 13th, with his championship lead reduced to 10 points over Voisin.

JHR’s Matthew Rees failed to finish after sustaining damage on the opening lap. Douglas driver Shawn Rashid was another retiree after failing to get away at the start.

Race result (8 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Alex Dunne Hitech GP 21m06.525s
2 Callum Voisin Carlin +1.174s
3 Tymek Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport +1.853s
4 David Morales JHR Developments +3.751s
5 Nico Christodoulou Arden VRD +4.502s
6 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed +4.650s
7 Michael Shin Hitech GP +5.426s
8 John Bennett Carlin +6.471s
9 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports +7.656s
10 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports +9.682s
11 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport +10.453s
12 James Hedley Arden VRD +10.722s
13 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +11.194s
14 Costa Toparis Carlin +13.093s
15 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports +14.372s
16 Souta Arao Hitech GP +14.542s
17 Lucas Staico Douglas Motorsport +14.893s
18 Ayato Iwasaki Elite Motorsport +16.877s
19 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport +17.101s
20 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing +1 lap
21 Matthew Rees JHR Developments
Ret Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed
Ret Noah Ping Arden VRD
Ret Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing
Ret Shawn Rashid Douglas Motorsport
Fastest lap: Dunne, 2m16.223s

Championship standings
Loake 154   2 Voisin 144   3 Dunne 118   4 Kucharczyk 108   5 Hedley 103   6 Rees 91   7 Bennett 90   8 Cresswell 81   9 Shin 78   10 Toparis 75