Home Formula 3GB3 Cresswell leads Kucharczyk in GB3’s pre-event Silverstone test

Cresswell leads Kucharczyk in GB3’s pre-event Silverstone test

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell was fastest in GB3 pre-event testing on Silverstone’s Grand Prix layout today.

Returning from his two-round stint in FIA Formula 3, Cresswell posted a best time of 1m53.883s in the third and final session to edge Douglas Motorsport’s Tymek Kucharczyk by 0.058 seconds.

Joseph Loake was quickest in a damp opening session ahead of Matthew Rees, the JHR Developments team-mates exchanging top spot in the final few minutes before Loake set a 1m58.407s. Kucharczyk was third ahead of points leader Alex Dunne. 

Conditions were dry for session two, and Voisin edged Rees to lead the way with 10 minutes remaining. Kucharczyk then posted three quicker laps to end fastest with a best effort of 1m53.967s. Loake improved to second late on, 0.217s behind Kucharczyk, with Rees ending third ahead of Zak Taylor and Fortec Motorsports duo Max Esterson and Jarrod Waberski.

Kucharczyk lapped within 0.002s of his earlier benchmark with six minutes remaining of session three. Cresswell then set the best time of the day so far, a 1m53.902s, before then improving further moments before the chequered flag was shown.

Loake ended the day third ahead of Rees and Dunne, the trio all improving in the final session. Dunne’s closest title rival Callum Voisin was ninth for Rodin Carlin, having set his fastest lap in session two.

Reigning GB4 champion Nikolas Taylor tested for Chris Dittmann Racing, impressing with the sixth fastest time in session one. His session three best left him just over a second off the pace in 16th.

Testing results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport 1m53.883s 33
2 Tymek Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport 1m53.941s +0.058s 32
3 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 1m54.092s +0.209s 33
4 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 1m54.156s +0.273s 31
5 Alex Dunne Hitech GP 1m54.245s +0.362s 29
6 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing 1m54.291s +0.408s 31
7 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports 1m54.448s +0.565s 35
8 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports 1m54.489s +0.606s 29
9 Callum Voisin Carlin 1m54.567s +0.684s 31
10 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport 1m54.658s +0.775s 32
11 Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing 1m54.758s +0.875s 34
12 David Morales JHR Developments 1m54.832s +0.949s 31
13 Souta Arao Hitech GP 1m54.869s +0.986s 17
14 Nico Christodoulou Arden 1m54.917s +1.034s 33
15 Lucas Staico Douglas Motorsport 1m54.960s +1.077s 34
16 Nikolas Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing 1m54.977s +1.094s 32
17 Noah Ping Arden 1m55.011s +1.128s 34
18 John Bennett Carlin 1m55.310s +1.427s 33
19 James Hedley Arden 1m55.370s +1.487s 33
20 Costa Toparis Carlin 1m55.412s +1.529s 32
21 Shawn Rashid Douglas Motorsport 1m55.551s +1.668s 33
22 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports 1m55.652s +1.769s 31
23 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed 1m55.939s +2.056s 32
24 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed 1m56.191s +2.308s 33