Home News Christian Ho gets his first car racing win in Spanish F4 at Aragon

Christian Ho gets his first car racing win in Spanish F4 at Aragon

by Ida Wood

Photo: Campos Racing

Campos Racing’s Christian Ho led from lights-to-flag for his first Spanish Formula 4 win in the second race at Aragon.

Ho went unchallenged at the start as fellow front-row starter Enzo Deligny got off the line slowly and came under attack from Theophile Nael. However the long back straight of the Aragon track brought them back onto Ho’s tail and he tried to break the tow by weaving.

He finished the lap 0.569 seconds ahead, with that gap shrinking to 0.351s on lap four before he started to manage the gap again to finish 0.924s clear of Deligny.

Nael kept on Deligny’s gearbox until the final third of the race, but he was still comfortable in third place as the drivers behind spent their time battling each other.

Initially Andres Cardenas was fourth, but he lost several places on lap one and Pedro Clerot moved into fourth place. Clerot then started squabbling with Noah Stromsted, swapping positions miltiple times while Valerio Rinicella spun Cardenas off.

The battling continued all the way through the race, with Rinicella getting himself between the pair at times, and on lap 11 when Stromsted went down the inide of Rinicella at the final chicane it also enabled Matteo De Palo to get past too.

De Palo took fifth from Stromsted at turn one on the next lap, then fended off his attacks through the final two laps. Rinicella was not too far behind, while Jeronimo Berrio lost a points finish by retiring on the final lap.

That meant the top 10 was completed by Keanu Al Azhari, Ricardo Gracia and Noah Lisle, the latter having held off the first two for much of the race but at one point only doing so by going off the track and so he was made to concede a place after.

Alex Ninovic had met the chequered the flag in ninth, but a two-second penalty for track limits absue dropped him out of the points.

Hiyu Yamakoshi failed to make the start with a car issue, while George Zhuravskiy made a race-ending trip to the pits at the end of lap one. Cardenas also ended his race in the pits.

Flavio Olivieri retired after a lap two collision with Luciano Morano, while Theodor Jensen and Daniel Nogales collided twice during the race while fighting far outside the top 20 but both avoided penalties.

Race result (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Christian Ho Campos Racing 28m13.728s
2 Enzo Deligny Campos Racing +2.757s
3 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +3.486s
4 Pedro Clerot MP Motorsport +10.555s
5 Matteo De Palo Campos Racing +12.145s
6 Noah Stromsted Campos Racing +12.495s
7 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +13.157s
8 Keanu Al Azhari MP Motorsport +14.211s
9 Ricardo Gracia Monlau Motorsport +23.413s
10 Noah Lisle Carlin +23.656s
11 Alex Ninovic Carlin +25.133s
12 Federico Al Rifai Carlin +25.502s
13 Pablo Sarrazin Monlau Motorsport +25.594s
14 Griffin Peebles Tecnicar Motorsport +25.808s
15 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Campos Racing +30.457s
16 Alexander Abkhazava Drivex School +32.303s
17 Carl Bennett GRS +35.072s
18 Alvise Rodella MP Motorsport +35.922s
19 Eric Gene Tecnicar Motorsport +39.389s
20 Luciano Morano Sainteloc Racing +39.796s
21 Alexandro Silvaggi Cram Motorsport +52.164s
22 Fernando Barrichello Monlau Motorsport +1m03.404s
23 Maxi Restrepo Drivex School +1m04.432s
24 Lin Hodenius Monlau Motorsport +1m50.453s
25 Jeronimo Berrio MP Motorsport +1 lap
26 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +3 laps
27 Daniel Nogales Drivex School +4 laps
28 Juan Cota Drivex School +4 laps
Ret Andres Cardenas Campos Racing
Ret Flavio Olivieri Cram Motorsport
Ret George Zhuravskiy Drivex School
Ret Hiyu Yamakoshi Drivex School
Pole: Ho, 2m00.031s   Fastest lap: Deligny, 2m00.019s

Championship standings
1 Clerot 74   2 Ho 73   3 Deligny 52   4 Nael 48   5 De Palo 46   6 Stromsted 39   7 Rinicella 33   8 Al-Azhai 29   9 Lisle 16   10 Berrio 16