Home Formula 2 Cecotto leads Evans in Arden 1-2 at Monte Carlo

Cecotto leads Evans in Arden 1-2 at Monte Carlo

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: Charles Coates/GP2 Series Media Service

Johnny Cecotto, Jr. took his second GP2 career pole at the site of his first pole at Monte Carlo, dominating his group and setting a good enough time to remain unbeaten by the very best in Group B.

The Monaco qualifying, as last year, was separated into two groups, and Cecotto prevailed in the first one. Sam Bird was second ahead of Kevin Ceccon and Julian Leal. Down a second from the leader was Felipe Nasr, who took fifth and will therefore be starting the race in ninth place.

Group B saw a much closer qualifying session and Mitch Evans was the one to top the timesheets, qualifying on front row to set up a 1-2 for Arden. Fabio Leimer was second, ahead of Jolyon Palmer, Tom Dillmann and Robin Frijns.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Johnny Cecotto Arden International 1:21.141
2 Mitchell Evans Arden International 1:21.157
3 Sam Bird Russian Time 1:21.509
4 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1:21.185
5 Kevin Ceccon Trident Racing 1:21.986
6 Jolyon Palmer Carlin 1:21.198
7 Julian Leal Racing Engineering 1:22.092
8 Tom Dillmann Russian Time 1:21.387
9 Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:22.163
10 Robin Frijns Hilmer Motorsport 1:21.418
11 Marcus Ericsson DAMS 1:22.349
12 Sergio Canamasas Caterham Racing 1:21.522
13 Alexander Rossi Caterham Racing 1:22.511
14 Stefano Coletti Rapax 1:21.658
15 Rio Haryanto* Barwa Addax Team 1:22.589
16 Nathanael Berthon Trident Racing 1:22.245
17 James Calado ART Grand Prix 1:22.677
18 Stephane Richelmi DAMS 1:22.317
19 Daniel de Jong MP Motorsport 1:22.943
20 Rene Binder** Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:22.376
21 Kevin Giovesi Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:23.006
22 Daniel Abt ART Grand Prix 1:22.716
23 Simon Trummer Rapax 1:23.017
24 Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team 1:22.842
25 Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 1:23.443
26 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs MP Motorsport 1:23.328

* Haryanto will start in 25th due to a grid penalty carried over from last round
** Binder received a three-place penalty for impeding Canamasas and will start in 22nd