Home News Cape Motorsports in control in USF2000 test at Mid-Ohio

Cape Motorsports in control in USF2000 test at Mid-Ohio

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Cape Motorsports fielded four of the five fastest drivers in the second pre-season USF2000 test at Mid-Ohio on Monday.

The one-day test was split into four sessions, with Cape drivers topping all but one. Recce Gold started and finished the day with session-topping performances, but it was Cape team-mate Michael d’Orlando who set the overall pace with a 1m21.8805s lap in the second session.

Josh Green, another Cape driver, was 0.1005s behind and the only other person to run in the 1m21s, while Miller Vinatieri Motorsports’ Jack William Miller went fastest in session three and was 0.2313s behind d’Orlando at the end of the day.

There were numerous unsigned drivers entered in the test, with Bijoy Garg the fastest of those for Jay Howard Driver Development. He is part of the team’s line-up in United States Formula 4, which was racing at the circuit the day before the USF2000 test, and his F4 rival Nico Christodoulou was also on track with his team DEForce Racing.

Exclusive Autosport fielded karter Josh Pierson in place of its Mexican driver Manuel Cabrera, and Legacy Autosport attended with cars for Courtney Crone, in place of signed driver Ayrton Ori, and Michael Myers.

A transponder issue meant no laps were officially timed for Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series graduate Myers, who is set to race for Legacy this year and represented the team in the Road to Indy’s Esports series.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 1m21.8805s 68
2 Josh Green Cape Motorsports 1m21.9810s +0.1005s 67
3 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m22.1118s +0.2313s 78
4 Kyle Dupell Cape Motorsports 1m22.2840s +0.4035s 49
5 Reece Gold Cape Motorsports 1m22.3429s +0.4624s 56
6 Nolan Siegel Jay Howard Driver Development 1m22.3527s +0.4722s 51
7 Christian Rasmussen Jay Howard Driver Development 1m22.4220s +0.5415s 48
8 Wyatt Brichacek Jay Howard Driver Development 1m22.5954s +0.7149s 74
9 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport 1m22.6369s +0.7564s 42
10 Matt Round-Garrido Pabst Racing 1m22.7750s +0.8945s 60
11 Bijoy Garg Jay Howard Driver Development 1m22.8800s +0.9995s 71
12 Christian Bogle Jay Howard Driver Development 1m22.9153s +1.0348s 72
13 Max Kaeser Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m22.9691s +1.0886s 77
14 Cameron Shields Legacy Autosport 1m23.0816s +1.2011s 66
15 Nico Christodoulou DEForce Racing 1m23.1103s +1.2298s 71
16 Prescott Campbell Exclusive Autosport 1m23.4712s +1.5907s 56
17 Josh Pierson Exclusive Autosport 1m24.8264s +2.9459s 30
18 Courtney Crone Legacy Autosport 1m25.0168s +3.1363s 71
19 Michael Myers Legacy Autosport no info