Home Featured Campos’s Goethe quickest in opening post-season FIA F3 test session

Campos’s Goethe quickest in opening post-season FIA F3 test session

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Campos Racing’s Oliver Goethe led the way in the first session of the FIA Formula 3 post-season testing at Jerez.

There was very little track activity in the first hour, with initially only Carlin duo Zane Maloney and Callum Voisin and Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli heading out.

After 14 minutes just six drivers had triggered the timing beam, with Maloney’s early 2m07.921s benchmark putting him 0.188 seconds ahead of team-mate Ugo Ugochukwu.

By the 37-minute mark some more drivers had set outlaps, and 10 minutes later the majority of the 30-car field had at least left the pits. But when MP Motorsport’s Tim Tramnitz went third fastest, 6.768s off the pace, he was only the seventh driver to set a laptime.

Maloney lowered the pace to 1m54.592s after 49 minutes, and MP’s Emmo Fittipaldi became the eighth driver to complete a lap. Ugochukwu then beat Malony by 0.015s, with Voisin setting a 1m56.262s to return to third place.

Two minutes later Maloney set a 1m34.129s, and the timesheet featured a ninth name as MP’s Hadrien David headed out. Carlin filled the top three places as Voisin recorded a 1m32.794s and Ugochukwu set a 1m33.938s to move ahead of Maloney.

Voisin kept on improving, and ended the first hour on top with a 1m32.023s. Maloney was 0.199s behind, Fittipaldi was 1.186s back in third and David shuffled Ugochukwu down to fifth.

Maloney reduced Voisin’s advantage to 0.045s at the start of the next hour, before the track finally started to get busy.

Jenzer Motorsport’s Charlie Wurz immediately went into third place once he headed out, with team-mate Matias Zagazeta going seventh fastest.

After 67 minutes finally more than half of the field had completed more than just an outlap, and a few minutes after that PHM Racing’s Taylor Barnard went faster with a 1m31.999s lap. Hitech GP’s Martinius Stenshorne had just gone 15th fastest with a 2m07.182s lap when red flags waved and the session was stopped for 13 minutes.

There was no change at the top before the next red flag stoppage shortly after, which appeared to be caused by David, with Prema’s drivers still yet to even complete an outlap.

After the next restart there was a bit more track activity, and Maloney returned to first place with a 1m31.332s while Goethe went fifth fastest with one of his first flying laps.

Ugochukwu got within 0.282s of Maloney’s pace, and Campos’s Mari Boya went third fastest. Goethe then got within 0.123s of Maloney, but he responded by improving to 1m31.315s.

Voisin and Ugochukwu were less than a tenth of a second slower than Maloney, and Goethe lapped 0.103s off the pace before they all headed back to the pits.

The Prema drivers finally left the pits and began the last hour of the three-hour session by setting their first laps before red flags waved again.

The next stoppage occurred with 25 minutes to go and there was no change to the top five places. It took until the last nine minutes for the widespread focus to switch to setting personal bests, and Goethe went to the top ahead of Prema’s Gabriele Mini, Boya and Fornaroli.

Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m30.814s 23
2 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m30.947s +0.133s 18
3 Mari Boya Campos Racing 1m31.125s +0.311s 22
4 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m31.160s +0.346s 15
5 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m31.218s +0.404s 19
6 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m31.315s +0.501s 28
7 Callum Voisin Carlin 1m31.360s +0.546s 28
8 Ugo Ugochukwu Carlin 1m31.413s +0.599s 28
9 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.440s +0.626s 21
10 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.487s +0.673s 28
11 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m31.516s +0.702s 28
12 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m31.607s +0.793s 31
13 Ollie Gray ART Grand Prix 1m31.726s +0.912s 29
14 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.882s +1.068s 31
15 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m31.889s +1.075s 22
16 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP 1m31.894s +1.080s 29
17 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m31.999s +1.185s 22
18 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m32.087s +1.273s 19
19 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix 1m32.194s +1.380s 26
20 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.195s +1.381s 27
21 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak PHM Racing 1m32.220s +1.407s 18
22 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.285s +1.471s 28
23 Santiago Ramos Trident 1m32.364s +1.550s 16
24 Joshua Dufek PHM Racing 1m32.617s +1.804s 19
25 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport 1m32.819s +2.005s 27
26 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m32.900s +2.086s 11
27 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.095s +2.281s 24
28 Emmo Fittipaldi MP Motorsport 1m33.209s +2.395s 27
29 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m33.313s +2.499s 16
30 Sami Meguetounif Trident 1m33.502s +2.688s 8