Home News Campos’s Ernesto Rivera gets first Spanish F4 win in safety car-filled race

Campos’s Ernesto Rivera gets first Spanish F4 win in safety car-filled race

by Ida Wood

Photo: Campos Racing

Campos Racing’s Ernesto Rivera came from third on the grid to win the second Spanish Formula 4 race at Algarve.

MP Motorsport’s Keanu Al Azhari and Griffin Peebles filled the front row, with Rivera alongside his team-mate James Egozi on row two. Al Azhari swept to the inside immediately at the start to defend the lead from pole, and he got through the first corners ahead before the safety car was called.

At turn two, TC Racing’s Gabriel Gomez was pushed out into the path of Rodin Motorsport’s Peter Bouzinelos and they both retired. Bouzinelos was out on the spot, Gomez made it back to the pits with a hurt hand, and Sainteloc Racing’s Yevan David was eliminated in a seperate incident.

Rene Lammers stalled on the grid, but everyone avoided hitting his car before he finally got going in last place. He gained back one spot when Campos’s Enzo Tarnvanichkul pitted at the end of lap one, and he did not rejoin the race until lap three.

Racing resumed on lap five and Peebles was passed by Rivera and Egozi before turn one. He reclaimed third from Egozi at turn two, then at the turn five hairpin Andres Cardenas went side-by-side with Campos team-mate Nathan Tye and as he failed to turn in he then sent Tye crashing into the side of Rodin’s Thomas Strauven. Cardenas escaped unscathed, the other two retired and the safety car returned.

The next restart was on lap eight, and Al Azhari nailed his timing for returning to racing speed to immediately build a gap while Egozi got alongside Peebles down the pit straight. Rivera also managed to get a very strong tow and actually passed Al Azhari before they even headed downhill. Peebles retained third by holding the inside line at turn one.

The safety car was summoned again as TC Racing’s Cristian Cantu and Lammers crashed. MP’s pre-race points leader Lucas Fluxa got past Cardenas for sixth before the race was neutralised.

There were two laps to go on the next restart, and Rivera escaped Al Azhari who came under immediate pressure from Peebles. MP’s Mattia Colnaghi took fourth from Egozi around the outside of turn one, then at turn five Monlau Motorsport’s Tim Gerhards and Sainteloc’s Maxi Restrepo went off and took Rodin’s Preston Lambert with them.

Lambert and Gerhards rejoined the track, whereas Restrepo got buried in the gravel. Race control chose to just use yellow flags there and racing continued.

Rivera held off Al Azhari to win by 0.298s, Peebles finished third and Colnaghi was fourth after having to pass Egozi again in a three-wide turn one move. Fluxa’s sixth place meant he lost the points lead to Al Azhari.

Race results (12 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ernesto Rivera Campos Racing
2 Keanu Al Azhari MP Motorsport +0.298s
3 Griffin Peebles MP Motorsport +0.903s
4 Mattia Colnaghi MP Motorsport +3.606s
5 James Egozi Campos Racing +3.954s
6 Lucas Fluxa MP Motorsport +4.073s
7 Andres Cardenas Campos Racing +4.943s
8 Jan Przyrowski Campos Racing +5.226s
9 Douwe Dedecker Global Racing Service +5.501s
10 Maciej Gladysz MP Motorsport +5.829s
11 Francisco Macedo Drivex School +6.139s
12 Juan Cota Drivex School +6.700s
13 Mikkel Pedersen Drivex School +6.840s
14 Gustaw Wisniewski Tecnicar Motorsport +7.369s
15 Adam Hideg Cram Motorsport +8.256s
16 Lenny Ried Monlau Motorsport +8.631s
17 Matteo Quintarelli Sainteloc Racing +8.921s
18 Matus Ryba Drivex School +9.180s
19 Filippo Fiorentino Cram Motorsport +9.413s
20 Alexander Jacoby Global Racing Service +10.760s
21 Lorenzo Castillo Tecnicar Motorsport +11.365s
22 Wiktor Dobrzanski Tecnicar Motorsport +11.682s
23 Rehan Hakim Monlau Motorsport +12.254s
24 Preston Lambert Rodin Motorsport +13.190s
25 Lia Block Global Racing Service +13.606s
26 Tim Gerhards Monlau Motorsport +1 lap
27 Enzo Tarnvanichkul Campos Racing +1 lap
Ret Maxi Restrepo Sainteloc Racing
Ret Rene Lammers MP Motorsport
Ret Cristian Cantu TC Racing
Ret Thomas Strauven Rodin Motorsport
Ret Nathan Tye Campos Racing
Ret Gabriel Gomez TC Racing
Ret Yevan David Sainteloc Racing
Ret Peter Bouzinelos Rodin Motorsport
DNS Eloi Gonzalez Drivex School
Fastest lap: Peebles, 1m44.947s

Championship standings
1 Al Azhari 75   2 Fluxa 66   3 Strauven 51   4 Rivera 42   5 Colnaghi 34   6 Egozi 30   7 Gladysz 25   8 Przyrowski 23   9 Bouzinelos 20   10 Lammers 20