Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Camara takes FREC race one pole at Red Bull Ring, Stenshorne in 20th

Camara takes FREC race one pole at Red Bull Ring, Stenshorne in 20th

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: FRECA

Prema’s Rafael Camara claimed his second Formula Regional European Championship pole position at the Red Bull Ring.

The Ferrari junior commanded the faster group A and will start race one from first place, with G4 Racing’s Alessandro Giusti alongside him to complete the front row after being the benchmark driver in Group B.

Camara was the first driver to set a competitive laptime halfway through Group A’s 15-minute qualifying session, after several tyre warm-up laps.

R-ace GP’s Tim Tramnitz moved to the top of the times with a 1m26.408s, as all drivers improved their pace five minutes from the end. Camara followed with his team-mate Andrea Kimi Antonelli in third, 0.109 seconds off of Tramnitz’s fastest lap.

Camara reclaimed first place with just over three minutes left on the clock, lowering the pace to 1m26.128s. Tramnitz improved twice, but was unable to beat Camara and finished qualifying 0.132s behind him.

Monolite Racing’s series returnee Hadrien David briefly went up to fourth, but his lap was deleted for exceeding track limits. Later on, he would improve again to be seventh fastest in the group.

G4’s Michael Belov was in third place as the chequered flag waved, only for Antonelli to beat his laptime moments later. MP Motorsport’s Sami Meguetounif and Trident’s Owen Tangavelou were fifth and sixth after being in the group top 10 for the whole session.

It was also a slow start to qualifying in group B, with the first competitive laptimes being set only five minutes from the end. Giusti provided the first benchmark, a 1m26.879s, ahead of Race Performance Motorsport’s Santiago Ramos and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort.

Several drivers then traded top spot as laptimes improved. Sainteloc Racing’s Esteban Masson went fastest with three minutes to go, then Giusti moved back ahead before Ramos and Haverkort lowered the pace further.

Meanwhile, KIC Motorsport’s Ivan Klymenko had come to a halt as his rear-right suspension failed as he exited turn one. However, he was able to take his car to a safe spot in the run-off area and no yellow flags were waved.

A late 1m26.359s effort put Giusti back on top, but it wasn’t enough to achieve pole as he was 0.231s slower than Camara. Prema’s Lorenzo Fluxa was second fastest in the group, whereas Haverkort, who had his last lap which was good enough for second deleted, was third ahead of Ramos.

Antonelli’s closest title rival Martinius Stenshorne endured a difficult qualifying. The R-ace GP driver could only go 10th fastest in group B, putting him 20th on the grid, and was never higher than eighth place during the session.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Rafael Camara Prema 1m26.128s
2 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing 1m26.359s
3 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP 1m26.260s
4 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema 1m26.537s
5 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m26.297s
6 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.559s
7 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m26.404s
8 Santiago Ramos R-P-M 1m26.569s
9 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m26.496s
10 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m26.613s
11 Owen Tangavelou Trident 1m26.506s
12 Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing 1m26.641s
13 Maceo Capietto R-P-M 1m26.553s
14 Nikhil Bohra Trident 1m26.691s
15 Hadrien David Monolite Racing 1m26.582s
16 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport 1m26.722s
17 Jesse Carrasquedo Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.687s
18 Tom Lebbon Arden 1m26.786s
19 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m26.730s
20 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP 1m26.909s
21 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m26.740s
22 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP 1m27.170s
23 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix 1m26.759s
24 Levente Revesz Arden 1m27.451s
25 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport 1m26.822s
26 Bruno del Pino MP Motorsport 1m27.480s
27 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing 1m26.921s
28 Niels Koolen Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.505s
29 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing 1m27.245s
30 William Karlsson KIC Motorsport 1m27.602s
31 Pierre-Alexandre Provost G4 Racing 1m27.320s
32 Ivan Klymenko KIC Motorsport 1m27.763s